Skip to content

Peter Doyle

Peter Doyle is the author of the crime fiction series featuring Billy Glasheen, which brilliantly explore the criminal underworld, political corruption, and the postwar explosion of sex, drugs, and rock ‘n’ roll in Australia. The series, which includes Get Rich Quick and The Devil’s Jump, has won him three Ned Kelly Awards, including one for lifetime achievement.

Doyle’s other books include the highly acclaimed City of Shadows: Sydney Police Photographs 1912-48 and its successor, Crooks Like Us. Luc Sante’s books include Low Life: Lures and Snares of Old New York, Evidence, and Kill All Your Darlings. His lucid, authoritative introductions have graced the works of such seminal authors of crime fiction as Georges Simenon, Richard Stark, and Charles Willeford. Sante is a frequent contributor to “The New York Review of Books” and teaches at Bard College.