Skip to content

A Woman of the Future

by David Ireland

A Woman of the Future, first published in 1979, was David Ireland’s best-selling sixth novel and his third to win the Miles Franklin Award.

An imaginative tour de force, it is the story of the young life of Anthea Hunt—from conception to sexual awakening. It is controversial and brilliant, and unlike anything else in Australian literature

‘Immense originality, wit and gritty wisdom…David Ireland has reached the top.’ Patrick White

‘Remarkable…an extraordinary memoire of adolescence’ New York Times

‘A brilliant, often mind-blowing excursion…the sexual scenes here are as deliberately shocking as any recent fiction.’ Sunday Review

‘Superlative powers of observation…a very rewarding read.’ Manning Clark 


About David Ireland

David Ireland was born in 1927 on a kitchen table in Lakemba in south-western Sydney. He lived in many places and worked at many jobs, including greenskeeper, factory hand, and for an extended period in an oil refinery, before he became a full-time writer. Ireland started out writing poetry and drama but then turned to fiction. His first novel, The Chantic Bird, was published in 1968. In the next decade he published five further novels, three of which won the Miles Franklin AwardThe Unknown Industrial PrisonerThe Glass Canoe and A Woman of the Future. David Ireland was made a member of the Order of Australia in 1981. In 1985 he received the Australian Literature Society Gold Medal for his novel Archimedes and the Seagull. David Ireland lives in New South Wales.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *