Skip to content


by Colleen McCullough

Edda, Grace, Tufts and Kitty never thought the bonds of sisters could break. The four Latimer sisters, famed throughout New South Wales for their beauty, wit and ambition, have always been close and happy. But after they left their feathered beds to train as nurses and face the depression the four sisters are bound by their secret desires. Will they ever find the independence they desire or will life always be bittersweet?

Colleen McCullough is one of Australia’s Favourite Home Grown Authors for her acclaimed novel The Thorn BirdsBittersweet is her newest novel and is as clever as ever.


01 October, 2013

About Colleen McCullough

Colleen McCullough was born in western New South Wales in 1937. A neuroscientist by training, she worked in various Sydney and English hospitals before settling into ten years of research and teaching in the Department of Neurology at the Yale Medical School in the USA. In 1974 her first novel, Tim, was published in New York, followed by the bestselling The Thorn Birds in 1977 and a string of successful novels, including the acclaimed Masters of Rome series. In 1980 she settled in Norfolk Island, where she lives with her husband, Ric Robinson, and a cat named Shady. She passed away on January 29, 2015, at the age of 77.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *