Skip to content

Cities of the Plain

by Cormac McCarthy

Volume Three of the Border Trilogy in Cities of the Plain, two men marked by the boyhood adventures of All the Pretty Horses and The Crossing now stand together, between their vivid pasts and uncertain futures, to confront a country changing beyond recognition. In the fall of 1952, John Grady Cole and Billy Parham are cowboys on a New Mexico ranch encroached upon from the north by the military.

On the southern horizon are the mountains of Mexico, where one of the men is drawn again and again, in this story of friendships and passion, to a love as dangerous as it is inevitable.

In a lovely and terrible landscape of natural beauty and impending loss we find John Grady; a young cowboy of the old school, trusted by men and horses, and a fragile young woman, whose salvation becomes his obsession.


01 January, 2011

About Cormac McCarthy

Cormac McCarthy is the author of ten acclaimed novel.  Among his honours are the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction for The Road and the PEN/Saul Bellow Award for lifetime achievement in American literature.

Other books by Cormac McCarthy


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *