Skip to content

Cocaine Blues (Phryne Fisher #1)

by Kerry Greenwood

Meet the Hon. Phryne Fisher – gorgeous, charming and terribly fashionable. Tiring of the tedium of English high society she sets out for Melbourne, Australia to start a new life as a lady detecive along the way encountering more than her fair share of corrupt cops, communism and cocaine smugglers.

The London season is in full fling at the end of the 1920s, but the Honourable Phryne Fisher – she of the green-grey eyes, diamant garters and outfits that should not be sprung suddenly on those of nervous dispositions – is rapidly tiring of the tedium of arranging flowers, making polite conversations with retired colonels, and dancing with weak-chinned men. Instead, Phryne decides it might be rather amusing to try her hand at being a lady detective in Melbourne, Australia.

Almost immediately from the time she books into the Windsor Hotel, Phryne is embroiled in mystery: poisoned wives, cocaine smuggling rings, corrupt cops and communism – not to mention erotic encounters with the beautiful Russian dancer, Sasha de Lisse – until her adventure reaches its steamy end in the Turkish baths of Little Lonsdale Street.

‘With Phryne Fisher, the indefatigable Greenwood has invented the character-you-fall-in-love-with genre.’ The Australian


01 June, 2005

About Kerry Greenwood

Kerry Greenwood is the author of more than forty novels, six non-fiction works and the editor of two collections. Previous novels in the Phryne Fisher series are Cocaine BluesFlying too HighMurder on the Ballarat TrainDeath on the Victoria DockBlood and CircusesThe Green Mill MurderRuddy GoreUrn BurialRaisins and AlmondsDeath Before WicketAway with the FairiesMurder in MontparnasseThe Castlemaine MurdersQueen of the FlowersDeath by Water, Murder in the Dark, A Question of Death: An illustrated Phryne Fisher TreasuryMurder on a Midsummer Night and most recently, Dead Man's Chest. She is also the author of the Corinna Chapman crime series, Earthly DelightsHeavenly PleasuresDevil's FoodTrick or Treat, Forbidden Fruit and Cooking the Books. When she is not writing she is an advocate in Magistrates' Court for the Legal Aid Commission. She is not married, has no children and lives with a registered Wizard.

Other books by Kerry Greenwood


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *