Skip to content

Each Peach Pear Plum

by Janet and Allan Ahlberg

Each beautifully illustrated page encourages young children to interact with the picture to find the next fairy tale and nursery rhyme character.

In this book

With your little eye,

Take a look,

And play ‘I spy’

Winner of the 1978 Kate Greenaway Medal.


‘Deceptively simple. Each Peach Pear Plum is a work of genius’  Elaine Moss

‘This familiar rhyme has been given the brilliant Ahlbreg treatment to which no young child can fail to respond. It’s a book which will be read over and over again . . . just perfect!’  Child Education

‘A charming, pictorial fantasia…a warm, sunny, delectable picture book’  Brian Alderson, The Times

#21 in the Top 50 Kids’ Books 2019 – Younger Readers

About Janet and Allan Ahlberg

Janet Ahlberg (21 October 1944 – 13 November 1994), née Janet Hall, and Allan Ahlberg (5 June 1938) were a British married couple who created many children's books, including picture books that regularly appear at the top of "most popular" lists. They worked together for 20 years until Janet died of cancer in 1994. Allan wrote the books and Janet illustrated them. Allan Ahlberg has also written dozens of books with other illustrators.  Janet Ahlberg won two Kate Greenaway Medals for illustrating their books and the 1978 winner Each Peach Pear Plum was named one of the top ten winning works for the 50th anniversary of the Medal (1955–2005).

Other books by Janet and Allan Ahlberg


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *