Skip to content

Hello from the Gillespies

by Monica McInerney

For more than thirty years, Angela Gillespie has sent friends and family around the world an end-of-year letter titled ‘Hello from the Gillespies’. It’s always been cheery and full of good news. This year, Angela surprises herself – she tells the truth . . .

The Gillespies are far from the perfect family that Angela has made them out to be. Her husband seems to be having a mid-life crisis.  Her grown-up twins are having career meltdowns.  Her third daughter, badly in debt, can’t stop crying.  And her ten-year-old son spends more time talking to his imaginary friend than to real ones.

Without Angela, the family would fall apart. But when Angela is taken from them in a most unexpected manner, the Gillespies pull together – and pull themselves together – in wonderfully surprising ways . . .

#100 in Australia’s Top 100 2016


‘If you need more proof what a superior storyteller this author is, here it is.’  West Australian 

‘Such a brilliant ‘what if..’ idea. A gloriously fascinating and heart-warming book you can totally lose yourself in. Once you start, you’ll find it very, very hard to put down.’ Cathy Kelly

‘McInerney writes with a deep respect for her characters (…) written with humor and charm, McInerney serves up a satisfying family drama.’  Kirkus Reviews

‘This, her 11th novel, is a long family saga sprinkled with gentle humour. It’s a big, fat book – you won’t get through it in one sitting unless you’ve no life at all – but fans of this genre will love it. Snuggled up on the sofa with a hot chocolate on a cold night, they can catapult themselves into the searing heat of McInerney’s beloved “sunburnt country”. And realise that “dysfunctional” goes with “family” as universally as cup goes with saucer.’  Irish Independent


About Monica McInerney

One of the stars of Australian fiction, Monica McInerney is the author of the internationally bestselling novels A Taste for ItUpside Down Inside OutSpin the BottleThe Alphabet SistersFamily BaggageThose Faraday Girls, At Home with the Templetons, Lola's Secret, The House of Memories and a short story collection, All Together Now. Those Faraday Girls was the winner of the General Fiction Book of the Year prize at the 2008 Australian Book Industry Awards. In 2006 Monica was the ambassador for the Australian Government initiative Books Alive, with her novella Odd One Out. Monica grew up in a family of seven children in the Clare Valley of South Australia and has been living between Australia and Ireland for twenty years. She and her Irish husband currently live in Dublin.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *