Skip to content

Ice Station (Scarecrow #1)

by Matthew Reilly

The discovery of a lifetime.

At a remote ice station in Antarctica, a team of US scientists has found something buried deep within a 100-million-year-old layer of ice. Something made of metal.

The law of survival.

In a land without boundaries, there are no rules. Every country would kill for this prize.

A leader of men.

A team of crack United States marines is sent to the station to secure the discovery. Their leader – Lieutenant Shane Schofield, call-sign: SCARECROW. They are a tight unit, tough and fearless. They would follow their leader into hell. They just did…

#6 in Australia’s Top 100 Favourite Homegrown Reads #44 in ABC My Favourite Book 


“Grabs you like seeing a glock pointed at your head. If you want action – and I mean serious action – then pick up Matt Reilly’s Ice Station.”  Richard Marinko

“Some of the wildest and most sustained battles in an action thriller in a long time…non-stop action, lots of explosions – and a little bit of conspiracy.”  Chicago Tribune

“…a nonstop spray of short, punchy paragraphs and cliffhangers galore, this is grade-A action pulp.”  Publishers Weekly

“Fans of Clive Cussler will enjoy this first novel by Australian author Reilly.”  Library Journal

“Alistair MacLean meets the X-Files, in a first novel by Australian writer Reilly thats as silly and satisfying as a wide-screen Hollywood blockbuster.”  Kirkus Reviews

About Matthew Reilly

Matthew Reilly is the international bestselling of author of twelve novels: ContestIce StationTempleArea 7ScarecrowHover Car RacerHell IslandSeven Ancient WondersThe Six Sacred StonesThe Five Greatest WarriorsScarecrow and the Army of Thieves and The Tournament. His thirteenth novel, The Great Zoo of China, is published for Christmas, 2014. Matthew’s books are published in over 20 languages and he has sold approximately 5 million books worldwide: 3 million in Australia; over a million in the US; and over a million in the UK. In 2011, Scarecrow and the Army of Thieves was the biggest selling fiction title released in Australia for that year. Three more of Matthew’s books have been the biggest-selling Australian fiction titles of their year of release: The Tournament (2013), Seven Ancient Wonders (2005), The Five Greatest Warriors (2009). Matthew has also written two novellas: in 2005, he wrote Hell Island for the Australian Government’s Books Alive project and in 2014 he released the epic fantasy-quest ebook Troll Mountain. Matthew has written several short stories, including Roger Ascham and the King’s Lost Girl, a special free prequel to The Tournament which is available online. Other short stories include Time ToursThe Mine and the hyper-adrenalised romp, Altitude Rush. Matthew was appointed to the Australian Government’s Public Lending Right and Educational Lending Right Committee in 2007. He served on that committee till the end of 2011. Matthew has done speeches at libraries across Australia and around the world, from Minlaton to Edinburgh, from Cape Town to Houston. He owns and drives a DeLorean DMC-12, the car made famous in the Back to the Future movies. He also has a life-sized Han Solo in carbonite hanging on the wall of his office!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *