Skip to content

Left For Dead: A true story of resilience and courage

by Samantha Barlow, Sue Williams, Laurence Barlow

‘Samantha Barlow doesn’t stand a chance.  The first she knows of his presence is when she feels a blow, hard to the back of her head, delivered with such force, it actually dents her skull.’

Samantha Barlow’s life changed the day she was brutally attacked on the way to work in Sydney’s notorious Kings Cross. The popular, confident young woman was left for dead, dragging herself to a lonely bus stop, desperate to stay alive for her two young children. The police who attended the crime scene didn’t recognise their colleague.

Inspector Laurence Barlow watched helplessly as his wife’s life lay in the balance. He’d spent his career stopping violent offenders, but now found himself on the other side of a crisis.

Samantha could have been any woman – her attacker was a junkie after money. Her story touched people everywhere: her resilience, her indomitable spirit and her triumphant return to work after 22 months of rehab is an inspiration to all Australians.

About Samantha Barlow

Samantha Barlow decided at age ten that she wanted to be a police officer. The youngest new recruit in her year, she raced through the ranks and was tipped to become one of the country's first female police commissioners. She won a host of medals for her courage and commitment as she battled to recover from a vicious attack in Sydney's notorious Kings Cross.

Other books by Samantha Barlow

About Sue Williams

Sue Williams is the author of a number of bestselling books, including Women of the Outback; No Time For Fear, the story of shark attack survivor Paul de Gelder; and Father Bob: The Larrikin Priest. Her book And Then The Darkness, about the disappearance of British backpacker Peter Falconio, was shortlisted for the prestigious Golden Dagger Award in the UK, and the Ned Kelly Awards in Australia.

Other books by Sue Williams

Other books by Laurence Barlow


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *