Skip to content

Ranger’s Apprentice #7: Erak’s Ransom

by John Flanagan

When the Skandian Oberjarl is taken hostage during a raid on the desert land of Arrida, his second-in-command, Svengal, asks the Araluans for help. Halt and Will must go with him to deliver the ransom and secure Erak’s freedom, but a royal presence is needed. The Princess Cassandra – or Evanlyn, as Will knows her – persuades her father to let her go with them. Horace and the Ranger Gilan round out the group to make sure that Evanlyn is well protected. But will violent sandstorms, warring tribes and danger at every turn keep them from reaching Erak in time?

The seventh book takes us back to the final year of Will’s apprenticeship, before the events related in Ranger’s Apprentice Books 5 and 6.


“Set against the backdrop of an unforgiving desert and involving a sheik; a nomadic Bedouin-like tribe and a group of murderous fanatics in the pay of Erak’s enemy, the adventures are fast, bloody and dramatic.”  Magpies

“Such an exciting plot, clearly drawn characters and strong element of danger should engage, thrill and inspire young readers who love adventure stories.”  Viewpoint


01 January, 2007

About John Flanagan

John Flanagan's Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband adventure series have sold more than eight million copies worldwide. His books are available in more than one hundred countries, are regularly on the New York Times bestseller list, and have had multiple award shortlistings and wins in Australia and overseas. John, a former television and advertising writer, lives with his wife in a Sydney beachside suburb.  


  1. Kaedance steele

    I read five of these books in three days.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *