Skip to content

Real and the Unreal: Volume Two

by Ursula K. Le Guin

For over half a century, multiple award-winner Ursula K. Le Guin’s stories have shaped the way her readers see the world.

Her work gives voice to the voiceless, hope to the outsider and speaks truth to power. Le Guin’s writing is witty, wise, both sly and forthright; she is a master craftswoman. This two-volume selection of almost 40 stories was made by Ursula Le Guin herself.

The two volumes span the spectrum of fiction from realism through magical realism, satire, science fiction, surrealism and fantasy. Outer Space, Inner Lands showcases Ursula Le Guin’s acclaimed stories of the fantastic, originally appearing in publications as varied as Amazing Stories, Plyaboy, the New Yorker and Omni, and contains 20 stories, including modern classics such as the HUGO AWARD-winning The Ones Who Walked Away From Omelas, NEBULA-nominee Nine Lives; JAMES TIPTREE, JR MEMORIAL AWARD-winner (and HUGO and NEBULA-nominee) The Matter of Seggri; NEBULA AWARD-winner Solitude; and the secret history Sur, which was nominated for the HUGO AWARD and included in THE BEST AMERICAN SHORT STORIES.

About Ursula K. Le Guin

Ursula K. Le Guin was born in Berkeley, California, in 1929. Among her honors are a National Book Award, five Hugo and five Nebula Awards, the Kafka Award, a Pushcart Prize, and the Harold D. Vursell Memorial Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. She lives in Portland, Oregon.

Other books by Ursula K. Le Guin


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *