Skip to content

The Best Australian Stories 2016

by Charlotte Wood

The Best Australian Stories anthology brings together Australia’s most striking literary talents and provides a platform for those unpublished gems. This year Stella Prize-winning author Charlotte Wood takes the helm, putting together yet another enchanting collection.


07 November, 2016

About Charlotte Wood

Charlotte Wood has been described as "one of our most original and provocative writers.” (The Australian). Her fifth novel, The Natural Way of Things, was published in September 2015.  Her previous novel, Animal People, won the People's Choice medal in the 2013 NSW Premier's Literary Awards, was shortlisted for the 2013 Christina Stead Prize for Fiction and longlisted for the 2012 Miles Franklin Literary Award. Her earlier novels were also shortlisted for various prizes, including the Miles Franklin Award and regional Commonwealth Writers’ Prize.  Her non-fiction book is an essay collection, Love & Hunger: Thoughts on the Gift of Food. Charlotte is also editor of The Writer's Room Interviews, a bimonthly digital magazine of conversations with Australian authors, and in 2009 edited a collection of short stories about siblings by some of Australia's finest writers, called Brothers & Sisters. In 2014 she was appointed Chair of Arts Practice, Literature, at the Australia Council for the Arts.  Charlotte writes an occasional blog 'on reading, writing and living' at, and lives in Sydney with her husband.

Other books by Charlotte Wood


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *