Skip to content

The Bombs That Brought Us Together

by Brian Conaghan

Fourteen-year-old Charlie Law has lived in Little Town, on the border with Old Country, all his life. He knows the rules: no going out after dark; no drinking; no litter; no fighting. You don’t want to get on the wrong side of the people who run Little Town. When he meets Pavel Duda, a refugee from Old Country, the rules start to get broken. Then the bombs come, and the soldiers from Old Country, and Little Town changes for ever. Sometimes, to keep the people you love safe, you have to do bad things. As Little Town’s rules crumble, Charlie is sucked into a dangerous game. There’s a gun, and a bad man, and his closest friend, and his dearest enemy. Charlie Law wants to keep everyone happy, even if it kills him. And maybe it will …

Perfect for readers of Patrick Ness, John Boyne and Malorie Blackman.



About Brian Conaghan

Brian Conaghan was born in 1971. He was raised in the Scottish town of Coatbridge but now lives and works as a teacher in Dublin. His novel When Mr Dog Bites was shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal and attracted both praise and controversy for its honest, moving and funny depiction of a teenage boy with Tourette's syndrome. He has a Master of Letters in Creative Writing from the University of Glasgow, and his first book The Boy Who Made it Rain was published in 2011. Over the years Brian has made his dosh as a painter and decorator, a barman, a DJ, an actor, a teacher and now a writer. He currently lives in Dublin with two beauties who hinder his writing: his wife Orla and daughter Rosie.



Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *