Skip to content

If you liked that book, you’ll love this one…

Sometimes you read a book you absolutely love, are sad when it’s over and want to read others like it. Here we’ve listed some popular books that you may have read, and come up with books that you can try next.

050 Me Before You stickeredafter-you_jpg_pagespeed_ic_1z7-Qze_5iIf you liked Me Before You, you’ll love After You.

The first is the bestselling novel from Jojo Moyes with the tearjerker film, telling the story of Lou and Will, and how they changed each other’s lives. The second is sequel, revealing how you go on after such a life changing event.

If you liked The Husband’s Secret, you’ll love Truly Madly Guilty.

The amazing Liane Moriarty is back with a new novel. The first has sold loads across the world, and is a captivating story of how a secret can change so many people’s lives. The second depicts an ordinary Sunday afternoon BBQ with three families and a life altering event.

If you liked the The Girl on the Train, you’ll love The Couple Next Door.the couple next doorpaula-hawkins_the-girl-on-the-train

The first is a psychological thriller (and soon to be movie) where a woman spies something shocking from the window of a train. The second tells the tale of a baby left alone in a house who goes missing, showing people can be capable of almost anything.

If you liked The Miniaturist, you’ll love The Muse.

Jessie Burton’s first novel is set in 1686, and is the story of 18 year old Nella, who leaves the country to become wife to an illustrious merchant in Amsterdam. The second her new book, the story of a painting, going from the 1960s in London to the 1930s in Spain. Both are beautifully written as each other.

Pride and PrejudiceeligibleIf you liked Pride & Prejudice, you’ll love Eligible.

The first is one of the best known books in the world, the original romantic comedy. The second is a modern day retelling of the classic – Jane is a yoga teacher; Lizzie is a journalist. Mary is still much the same and Kitty and Lydia love social media and crossfit. Hilarious.

If you liked The Consolations of Philosophy, you’ll love The Course of Love.

The first is Alain de Botton’s absolute classic take on how the great minds of philosophy can help us live our everyday lives. The second is his work of fiction, a story of modern relationships and how to survive them – a marriage isn’t the end, it’s only the beginning.

If you liked All the Light We Cannot See, you’ll love Sarah’s Key.

The first was our recent bookclub book, a beautiful ambitious novel about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide. The second is set in Paris in 1942 when ten year old Jewish girl Sarah, is arrested by the police in the middle of the night, and the brother she is desperate to protect.

If you liked Girl With a Pearl Earring, you’ll love The Last Painting of Sara de Vos.xthe-last-painting-of-sara-de-vos.jpg.pagespeed.ic.w_O-0hoCNjgirl-with-a-pearl-earring

The first was the international bestseller, the fictional tale of the maid who becomes the subject of one of the world’s most recognised paintings. The second is a new novel, which charts a collision course between a Dutch female painter, an inheritor of her work in 1950s Manhatten, and an art forgery.

If you liked The One Who Got Away, you’ll love I Came to Say Goodbye.

Caroline Overington is one of the most exciting Australian authors writing today. The first is her latest book, where a deadly secret threatens to unravel the perfect couple with the perfect life. The second is her story of who is left behind when a family falls apart, and remains an absolute favourite.

charlotte-wood_the-natural-way-of-thingsThe Handmaid's TaleIf you liked The Natural Way of Things, you’ll love The Handmaid’s Tale.

The first is by Charlotte Wood, and has won numerous awards in the last year. It’s an unsettling dystopian fable of contemporary misogyny and corporate power. The second is the absolute classic by Margaret Atwood, where some women are offered only one function – to breed. Both are brilliantly conceived and executed, and feminist masterpieces.


Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *