Skip to content

June New Releases Your Child Will Love (Promise)

With the onset of winter, we’re all feeling the urge to stay indoors and curl up with a good book. This list of June essential reading for kids and YA will help you pick out something for your kids so that you can also put your feet up and lose yourself in a good book!

Peacock Detectives by Carly Nugent

The last time William Shakespeare and Virginia went missing Cassie found them sitting on a coiled hose behind the fire station, and Dad called her ‘Cassie Andersen, Peacock Detective’. So, this time she knows what to do—she’ll look for clues and track them down. But the clues lead her in an unexpected direction and Cassie finds herself investigating a confusing mystery about her family.

The Peacock Detectives is a warm and engaging story for middle-grade readers about dealing with change and finding out who you are.

The World Worst Children#3 by David Walliams

From the phenomenal number-one bestseller David Walliams comes another collection of more hilariously horrible children! Illustrated in glorious and gruesome colour by artist genius, Tony Ross, these stories will appal and delight young readers.

Just when you thought it was safe to go back to your bookshelf, 10 more horrendously hilarious stories about the absolute worst children ever! From ten-year old Hank and his endless pranks on his poor, long-suffering family, to Tandy and her titanic tantrums – this brand-new collection is the perfect companion to World’s Worst Children books 1 and 2 and an ideal gift for the worst children in your life

2018 marks the 10th anniversary of the publication of David Walliams’ first novel, The Boy in the Dress.

Amal Unbound by Aisha Saeed

Twelve-year-old Amal loves learning and dreams of becoming a teacher.

Then something unimaginable happens—after an accidental run-in with the son of her village’s corrupt landlord, she is forced to work as his family’s servant to pay off her own family’s debt.

At the opulent and corrupt Khan estate, Amal realises she will have to find a way to work with others in order to bring about change, and to achieve her dreams.

Inspired by Malala Yousafzai, Amal Unbound is a heart-warming story for brave girls everywhere.

 

Alice Miranda in Scotland by Jacqueline Harvey

Reunions and rivalries in the land of the brave!
A select group of students have been invited to attend the inaugural Future Leaders Opportunity Program in Scotland. Alice-Miranda and her friends are some of the lucky few and they just might be joined by a few familiar faces from around the globe.

There are new skills to be learned and challenges to conquer as well as a few fiery feuds for Alice-Miranda to settle! The organisation is being run by some interesting characters and, as the tournament reaches its climax, tempers start to fray. Is there another reason these particular children were brought together?

 

Embassy of the Dead by Will Mabbitt

The first book in a spookily funny new series, where the living meets the dead and survival is a race against time. Perfect for fans of Skulduggery Pleasant and Who Let the Gods Out.

Welcome to the Embassy of the Dead. Leave your life at the door. (Thanks.)

When Jake opens a strange box containing a severed finger, he accidentally summons a grim reaper to drag him to the Eternal Void (yep, it’s as fatal as it sounds) and now he’s running for his life! But luckily Jake isn’t alone – he can see and speak to ghosts.

Jake and his deadly gang (well dead, at least) – Stiffkey the undertaker, hockey stick-wielding, Cora, and Zorro the ghost fox – have one mission: find the Embassy of the Dead and seek protection. But the Embassy has troubles of its own and may not be the safe haven Jake is hoping for . . .

Cicada by Shaun Tan

Cicada works in an office, dutifully toiling day after day for unappreciative bosses and being bullied by his co-workers. But one day, cicada goes to the roof of the building, and something truly extraordinary happens …

A story for anyone who has ever felt unappreciated, overlooked or overworked, from Australia’s most acclaimed picture book creator.

The new picture book from multi-award-winner Shaun Tan, author of The Arrival, The Lost Thing and Rules of Summer.

The Burning Maze: The Trials Of Apollo #3 by Rick Riordan

The third title in Rick Riordan’s Trials of Apollo series – set in the action-packed (and hilarious) world of Percy Jackson

Lester Papadopoulos was once the glorious god Apollo, Now he’s an awkward (mortal) teenager, stuck on earth without his powers. The way out? A series of scary and dangerous trials, of course.

With two particularly scary and dangerous trials already under his belt, Lester must now journey to the Labyrinth – a burning maze with an Oracle at its centre, who may just hold the key to a return to godly glory.

But The Labyrinth holds a far more deadly threat – the third Roman emperor, part of a group of three, all bent on death and destruction. The mortal and immortal worlds won’t be safe whilst they live, and only Lester and his demigod friends have the power, bravery (and luck) to stop them . . .

Mercy Point by Anna Snoekstra

 In real life, they are enemies. Emma the know-it-all, Michael the bully, Fabian the coward, Tessie the weirdo and Sam the mystery. Online they are best friends, with one big thing in common: they are all sure they are adopted.

When they finally meet, they are horrified to find that the people they have been sharing their souls with are the people they hate. They decide to never speak again.

But avoiding each other is difficult in a small mountain town with only one high school.

It’s also tough to ignore one another when they each begin to realise that what their parents are hiding is much more sinister than just adoption.

The five teenagers have a choice to make. Continue to live a lie, or come together to hunt down the truth, no matter how dangerous that may be. Because the real story of their parentage is much more terrifying than they ever could have imagined.

It is a secret that goes to the very heart of the town itself.

From the author of the acclaimed debut novel Only Daughter comes a book about how much you’d be willing to risk to find out who you really are.

 

 


Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *