Skip to content

The Man Booker Prize – Every Winner Since 1969

It’s arguably the world’s most coveted literary award and The Man Booker Prize has been good news for Antipodean authors in recent years – in 2014 Tasmanian Richard Flanagan took out the prize for The Narrow Road to the Deep North and the 2013 Man Booker went to New Zealander Eleanor Catton for The Luminaries.

Tonight the longlist of 12 or 13 books for the 2016 prize will be announced and there’s already speculation on which books will make the list. Will there be any Australians? Now that the prize, which was traditionally open to only citizens of the UK, the Commonwealth or Republic of Ireland, is open to writers of any nationality, writing originally in English and published in the UK, it’s potentially more difficult for an Australian winner. But who knows? The Guardian newspaper makes some interesting speculation here. Who would you like to see on the longlist this year?

Here are all the winners of the Booker Prize since it started in 1969. How many have you read and which ones are your favourites?