Skip to content

Miles Franklin Literary Award – Every Winner Since 1957

In 1957, the first winner of the Miles Franklin Literary Award was announced: Patrick White, for his novel Voss. Over the years, the prize has been awarded to novels describing life in suburbia, compulsive gamblers, Australians abroad – but always true to the terms of Miles Franklin’s will: ‘[the] prize shall be awarded for the Novel for the year which is of the highest literary merit and which must present Australian Life in any of its phases …’.

The list of winners since 1957 includes some of the greatest writers of the past 50 years – often more than once. Thea Astley and Tim Winton share the honour of having received the award four times apiece.