Skip to content

Stella Prize announces 2017 Longlist

Arguably one of Australia’s most prestigious awards, the Stella Prize is presented annually to one female Australian author in recognition of their contribution to the literary landscape.

Even though it’s relatively young, having been first awarded in 2013, its previous winners represent some of Australia’s best contemporary women writers, including Mateship with Birds by Carrie Tiffany (2013), The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka by Clare Wright (2014), The Strays by Emily Bitto (2015), and The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood (2016).

The judges are Delia Falconer, Benjamin Law, Diana Johnston, Sandra Philips, and Brenda Walker. In their judges’ report they stressed that this year’s collection of fiction and non-fiction addresses ‘urgent national issues with particular relevance to women, at a time when women are fighting to be politically seen and heard, and to secure their positions in the public sphere.’

The shortlist will be announced on 8 March 2017, and the winner on 18 April 2017.

Click on the book titles to find out more or purchase a copy.

Until then–happy reading!

  1. Victoria by Julia Baird
  2. Between a Wolf and a Dog by Georgia Blain
  3. The Hate Race by Maxine Beneba-Clarke
  4. Poum and Alexandre by Catherine de Saint Phalle
  5. Offshore by Madeline Gleeson
  6. Avalanche by Julia Leigh
  7. An Isolated Incident by Emily Maguire
  8. The High Places by Fiona McFarlene
  9. Wasted by Elspeth Muir
  10. The Museum of Modern Love by Heather Rose
  11. Dying: a Memoir by Cory Taylor
  12. The Media and the Massacre by Sonya Voumard





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *