Skip to content

The Miles Franklin Literary Award: 2016 Longlist Announced

The longlist for this year’s The Miles Franklin Literary Award has just been announced! Australia’s most prestigious and highly anticipated literary prize has been around since 1957 and was established through the will of My Brilliant Career author, Miles Franklin. The prize is awarded each year ‘to a novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases.’ Miles Franklin believed that “without an indigenous literature, people can remain alien in their own soil.”

Congratulations to all the longlisted authors. Watch this space for the shortlist!

See our interview with longlisted World Without Us author Mireille Juchau here

See our interview with last year’s winner, Sofie Laguna for The Eye of the Sheep

See the 2015 longlist here

And the 2016 longlist is:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *