Skip to content

The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards: Every Winner Since 2008

The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards were created to celebrate Australia’s outstanding literary talent, and the valuable contribution that Australian writing makes to the nation’s cultural and intellectual integrity.

Australia has a rich and diverse history of talented writers, and has produced some of the world’s most impressive literary texts. The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards stand as a testament to our country’s rich literary heritage, representing the nation’s willingness to invest in future works and shows our appreciation of and respect for Australian authors and writing.

In addition to this, the award boasts a rich history, and has grown significantly since its humble origins – in 2008 and 2009, only fiction and non-fiction categories were awarded prizes. In 2010, children’s and young adult categories were introduced, followed by the addition of poetry in 2012. Finally, the Prime Minister’s Prize for Australian History was incorporated into the award, making it one of the most diverse and far-reaching literary prizes in Australia – a true testament to the importance of reading across all ages and genres.

The list of winners since 2008 includes some of the greatest writers, historians, illustrators, and poets of the past decade.

You can read more about the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *