Skip to content

What We’re Sharing with Primary and High School Readers this May

If you’ve got a little one click here for our new picture book recommendations, or read on to learn more about new releases for ages 7 and up this May.

We know it can be hard to keep boys reading, but we think it’ll be hard to pull them away from a good book this month! First off there’s The Turners, the first in a new Australian series by Nickolodeon producer Mick Elliott. You can read our review here, but in a nutshell The Turners is fun, fast-paced and hilarious, as Leo learns his family’s shape-shifting secret. Perfect for ages 7-13.

Another hilarious new series is ‘Genius Factor’ by Paul Tobin, author of the Angry Birds comics and cartoon shorts. In How to Capture an Invisible Cat, 6-th grade genius Nate Bannister has found a new friend and a whole lot of trouble. Great fun for fans of David Walliams and Tom Gates aged 9+.

If you’ve got a Percy Jackson fan at home, you can rejoice because author Rick Riordan has another brand new series! The ‘Trials of Apollo’ series  launches with #1, The Hidden Oracle. Return to Camp Half-Blood for more mythological adventures for ages 9-12.

In the fifth book featuring Tan by Jen Storer, Truly Tan: Hoodwinked, Tan investigates the new girl in Peppercorn Valley, until suddenly the mystery intensifies and it’s up to Tan to save the day! Ages 8+.

Children of all ages can dip into Our Home is Dirt by Sea, a collection of poems by Australian authors on a variety of topics. Dianne Bates has compiled an antholgoy that will help introduce kids to a love of poetry.

For young adult readers, Sarah J Maas releases A Court of Mist and Fury, following on from the huge bestseller A Court of Thorns and Roses. This is a hugely popular fantasy series for teenagers, and is sure to be a hit with fans of her books.

Things have gone a little awry for Andie in The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson. She though she had her life all planned out, but this summer chaos has started to reign and everything just might look completely different. A wonderful YA read you’ll fall in love with.

Readers who have grown out of the Alex Rider, Young Bond or Cherub series should take a look at Eddie Savage in Shadow Box. A tightly plotted thriller by children’s TV writer Peter Cocks, this one is definitely for teenagers and continues the characters from Long Reach and Body Blow.

What will your older reader be devouring this May? Let us know in the comments.


Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *