Skip to content

Friday Night In

8PM Friday, 13 April 2018: The Fortress by S. A. Jones

This novel is a staggering accomplishment by a new voice in Australian writing. It’s for fans of Margaret Atwood, Charlotte Wood, and Ursula K le Guin. Check out our full review here. 

S. A. Jones will be joining us on the panel to discuss her divisive, confronting novel about a man who enters the Fortress for twelve months to be taught a lesson in insignificance . . .

 

About Friday Night In

Long week in the office? Just put the kids to bed? Want to wind-down on a Friday night without even leaving your lounge room?

Cosy up with authors and passionate readers of Australian fiction, Fiona Higgins and Kylie Ladd, for a relaxing FRIDAY NIGHT IN.

Every second Friday of the month, Fiona and Kylie catch up on the Better Reading couch with a glass of wine, a home-made brownie (or two) and a fabulous Aussie author to chat about an exciting new-release fiction title (or two).

Works and authors featured so far include Sixty Seconds by Jesse Blackadder, Sanctuary by Judy Nunn,The Making of Christina by Meredith Jaffe, The Greatest Gift by Rachael JohnsUnder the Cold Bright Lights by Gary Disher, Little Secrets by Anna Snoekstra, The Best of Adam Sharp by Graeme SimsionThe Whole Bright Year by Deborah Oswald and Before I Let You Go by Kelly Rimmer.

COMING SOON IN 2018

April 13 @ 8pm. The Fortress by S. A. Jones

May 11 @ 8pm. A Dangerous Language by Sulari Gentill 

June 15 @ 8pm: TBC

July 20 @ 8pm: The Other Wife Michael Robotham (released 10 July)

August 10 @ 8pm: TBC

September 14 @ 8pm: TBC

October 12 @ 8pm: TBC

November 9 @ 8pm: TBC

December 14 @ 8pm: TBC

An excursion for your bookclub?

Friday Night In can accommodate a small studio audience at the Better Reading warehouse in Camperdown, Sydney. It’s a great night out for bookclubs, with a chance to meet the author and chat to host couchers Fiona and Kylie, while having a glass of wine and getting your books signed!

If your bookclub is interested in being part of a studio audience for Friday Night In, please contact the following:

jack@betterreading.com.au OR fionahiggins100@gmail.com

About the couchers

Fiona Higgins is the bestselling author of three novels, Fearless, Wife on the Run and The Mothers’ Groupand a memoir, Love in the Age of Drought. She is published by Allen & Unwin and Pan Macmillan in Australia, with translations of her work sold into the Netherlands, France, Germany, Spain and Slovenia. She has qualifications in the humanities and social sciences and has been involved in the Australian nonprofit and philanthropy sector for twenty years. Fiona lives in Sydney with her husband and three children.

Kylie Ladd has published five novels with Allen & Unwin: After the Fall (also published by Doubleday in the US), Last Summer, which was highly commended in the FAW Christina Stead Award for fiction, Into My Arms, chosen as one of Get Reading’s ‘50 books you can’t put down’ for 2013, Mothers and Daughters (also published by Sphere in the UK) and her latest, The Way Back. With Leigh Langtree she edited the anthology Naked: Confessions of Adultery and Infidelity. Kylie holds a PhD in neuropsychology and lives in Melbourne with her husband and two children.