Skip to content

Kids & YA


Heroism, tragedy, and fascinating other worlds: Why historical fiction is great for kids

July 21, 2015

Have you noticed a lot of historical novels for kids on the bookshop and library shelves lately? With the new Australian Curriculum requiring that students read historical fiction and narratives, as well as recent and upcoming anniversaries of key events such as WWI and Gallipoli, book publishers have been enthusiastically commissioning and releasing historical stories. […] - Read more


‘What to read next’ and some favourite Australian stories

July 15, 2015

The Better Reading Kids team have been putting together lists of great stories to keep your child reading. For fans of Tom Gates and WeirDo, we have a round-up of some other humorous illustrated fiction series. And as part of our celebration of Australian authors, we have lists of a dozen must-have books for any child’s […] - Read more

Tagged with:


Recommendations for 0-4, 4-8, 8-12 and YA readers

July 2, 2015

Better Reading asked some of our authors and other friends to tell us about their favourite book recommendations for kids of all ages. A technical quirk on our website means that lists of recommendations like these appear over on our ‘Book Lists’ page. Please head over there to check out our array of wonderful lists for both […] - Read more

Tagged with:


Spells and adventure for fashionable younger readers

June 26, 2015

If your 8-9 year old girl is looking for a new series to get hooked on, try Witch Wars. Tiga Whicabim is very surprised to be told that she is a witch (despite her name being an anagram of I AM A BIG WITCH). And even more surprised to find she has been nominated to […] - Read more

Tagged with: ,


Friday Freebies!

June 25, 2015

Look out for our regular competitions every Friday on the Better Reading Facebook page for a chance to win free books or movie tickets. This week, we have ten lovely copies of Just the Way We Are to give away. Meet Anna, Chiara, Henry, Izzy and Jack. Their families might not look like your family, […] - Read more


N.J. Gemmell on Getting Kids off Screen and Reading

You may know N.J. Gemmell as Nikki Gemmell, author of seven novels and four works of non-fiction for adults, and a regular columnist for The Weekend Australian’s ‘Saturday’ magazine. Under the name of N.J. Gemmell, she has also written books for children, including The Kensington Reptilarium, her first book for children, and The Icicle Illuminarium, which continues the […] - Read more


‘Can I read this book, Mum?’ Helping your child choose age-appropriate reads

This article was inspired by a question posted on our facebook page by Lizzie D. Lizzie’s dilemma is a common one, so we asked our Children’s Specialist Liz Bray to talk us through some of the issues. Lizzie’s question: My 11-year-old daughter (Year 5) seems to have jumped from enjoying younger books like Tensy Farlow […] - Read more


Withering-by-Sea Writer and Illustrator Judith Rossell Talks about Her Work and Influences

June 24, 2015

Judith Rossell is the inspirational author and illustrator behind the popular children’s book Withering-by-Sea (an Honour Book in the 2015 CBCA Awards). She talked to Better Reading Kids about where she works, the books that inspired her as a child, and the role of illustrations in children’s books. BR: Your novel Withering-by-Sea has so many fans, and was […] - Read more


Comic superheroes for young readers

June 23, 2015

If you have a young reader in your life who loves superheroes and humour, Superhero School: The Revenge of the Green Meanie is for them. The first in a series, it’s about an ordinary boy who has always dreamed of becoming a superhero. Then one day a letter arrives inviting him to Mighty High School, […] - Read more


Bestselling Children’s Author Jackie French Talks Books with Better Reading Kids

June 22, 2015

Bestselling children’s author Jackie French is also an historian, ecologist, dyslexic, and a passionate advocate for literacy, the right of all children to be able to read, and the power of books. Her writing career spans 25 years – Hitler’s Daughter spent a decade on most of Australia’s kid’s choice award shortlists; Diary of a Wombat is one of Australia’s best-loved […] - Read more