Skip to content

Kids & YA


Friday Freebies: Fuzzy Mud and Holes by Louis Sachar

August 7, 2015

*freebie posted 7th August, enter by 13th August, 2015* Louis Sachar’s Holes is one of our all-time favourite novels for young people, so we’re really excited to be offering both Holes and Sachar’s brand new book, Fuzzy Mud, this week! About Fuzzy Mud This brand new story has a big heart, lots of intrigue and […] - Read more


Three interesting facts about kids and books we learned in the last week

July 31, 2015

At Better Reading Kids we love sharing great stories with children. Reading together is chilling out and bonding time, when you get to explore imaginary worlds and play with words. We’re passionate readers ourselves, and there’s nothing like passing your own passion on to kids. We also understand that reading with kids gives them a great […] - Read more


Friday Freebies at Better Reading Kids: A Work in Progress

*Freebie posted 31st July, enter by 6th August 2015* This week, we’re excited to be giving away 10 copies of a memoir/guide to life for teens: A Work in Progress by Connor Franta. You might not have heard of Connor Franta, but the teenagers in your life almost certainly have. He has over 4 million […] - Read more

Tagged with: ,


Books about sport, animal characters and fresh reading recommendations for 10-12 year olds

July 30, 2015

The Better Reading Kids team have been putting together more lists of reading recommendations for kids, including: page-turning reads to motivate young sport fans (because there’s nothing more motivating for kids than reading about a topic they love) our favourite stories with Australian animal characters, including Wombat Stew, Blinky Bill, Edward the Emu and more reading […] - Read more

Tagged with:


A new Dr Seuss! And the Seuss books that have meant the most to us.

July 25, 2015

In case you missed it, in 2015 a never-before-published Dr Seuss book, What Pet Should I Get? hit the shelves. It got us talking about what it would take to get a ‘discovered’ manuscript ready for the bookshelves. We’ve been reminiscing about Seuss’ legacy, and some of our all-time favourite Seuss books. And we’ve spoken to a high […] - Read more

Tagged with: ,


Heroism, tragedy, and fascinating other worlds: Why historical fiction is great for kids

July 21, 2015

Have you noticed a lot of historical novels for kids on the bookshop and library shelves lately? With the new Australian Curriculum requiring that students read historical fiction and narratives, as well as recent and upcoming anniversaries of key events such as WWI and Gallipoli, book publishers have been enthusiastically commissioning and releasing historical stories. […] - Read more


‘What to read next’ and some favourite Australian stories

July 15, 2015

The Better Reading Kids team have been putting together lists of great stories to keep your child reading. For fans of Tom Gates and WeirDo, we have a round-up of some other humorous illustrated fiction series. And as part of our celebration of Australian authors, we have lists of a dozen must-have books for any child’s […] - Read more

Tagged with:


Recommendations for 0-4, 4-8, 8-12 and YA readers

July 2, 2015

Better Reading asked some of our authors and other friends to tell us about their favourite book recommendations for kids of all ages. A technical quirk on our website means that lists of recommendations like these appear over on our ‘Book Lists’ page. Please head over there to check out our array of wonderful lists for both […] - Read more

Tagged with:


Spells and adventure for fashionable younger readers

June 26, 2015

If your 8-9 year old girl is looking for a new series to get hooked on, try Witch Wars. Tiga Whicabim is very surprised to be told that she is a witch (despite her name being an anagram of I AM A BIG WITCH). And even more surprised to find she has been nominated to […] - Read more

Tagged with: ,