Skip to content

Better Reading Breaking Book News! #4

November 23, 2018

Prizes and Awards:

There’s some exciting news about some much-loved 2018 titles, as well as updates about some great new books to add to our to-be-read pile (which, we know, is growing taller with each passing day).

‘Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine’ Wins…

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman has won the Books Are My Bag (MAMB) Reader’s Choice Award in the UK.

The bestselling debut novel follows the story of a socially isolated woman as she takes measures to participate more actively in life, with a Hello Sunshine (Reese Witherspoon’s production company) film adaptation being released in 2019.

Costa Book Awards…

The shortlists for the 2018 Costa Book Awards have been announced. Established in 1971, the Costa Book Awards recognise some of the ‘most enjoyable’ books of the year written by UK and Ireland based authors.

Shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award are:

  • The Silence of the Girls (Pat Barker, Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Italian Teacher (Tom Rachman, Text)
  • Normal People (Sally Rooney, Faber)
  • From a Low and Quiet Sea (Donal Ryan, Doubleday).

Category winners will be announced on the 7th of January 2019 and will each receive a cash prize of A$8880, with the overall winner (announced on the 29th of January) receiving an additional A$53,270.

‘Living in Hope’ memoir wins…

Living in Hope, written by Stolen Generations survivor Frank Byrne, has won the Small Press Network’s (SPN) Most Underrated Book Award (MUBA) for 2018.

The memoir tells how Byrne was moved from place to place after being forcibly removed from his mother, a Gooniyandi woman from Christmas Creek in the Kimberley in 1942, age 6.

Byrne sadly passed away in 2017 after finishing his book, but his legacy lives on – he is the first Indigenous Australian author to win the MUBA, with Living in Hope being the first memoir to win the award since its beginnings seven years ago.

‘The Dead Still Cry Out’

Helen Lewis’ The Dead Still Cry Out has won the Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award for 2018. Presented annually by Waverley Council, the award celebrates the best in Australian writing and research.

Chosen from a shortlist of six for a prize of $20,000, The Dead Still Cry Out tells the extraordinary true story of Lewis’ father, a British paratrooper and combat cameraman who filmed the liberation of Bergen-Belsen.

That’s it for the week. Keep an eye on our Facebook page for future bookish news bulletins. Happy reading!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *