Skip to content

Emotional, Entertaining and Well Crafted: Review of Saving You by Charlotte Nash

February 5, 2019

It’s a sunny Friday morning, and in her tiny green cottage on the outskirts of Brisbane, Mallory Cook wakes up feeling like she could conquer the world. Her beloved young son, Harry, has been visiting his father in New York for a few weeks, but after a year chasing corporate success in the Big Apple, Duncan is finally making a proper visit home – and he’s bringing Harry with him.

Buzzing with excitement at the thought of seeing her boys again, Mallory practically bounces through the day, chatting happily to the residents of Silky Oaks, the retirement village where she works, and keeping an eager eye on the clock. When it finally hits five, Mallory dashes to the airport, and as passengers begin to pour off Duncan and Harry’s flight, her heart leaps.

Minutes pass, and the arrival gate empties, but with no sign of Mallory’s boys. Her joy fizzles away – where could they possibly be? Head swirling with frightening thoughts, Mallory steels herself and calls Duncan, but nothing could have prepared her for his answers to her questions. Duncan is still in New York, he is leaving her, and he has no intention of bringing Harry back to Australia.

Hanging up the phone, Mallory feels shell-shocked. What happened to the husband she thought she knew? Little makes sense in her awful new reality, but if Mallory knows anything, it’s that she has to bring Harry home, and after a chance encounter at the airport with three Silky Oaks residents who have slipped out of the retirement village for one last overseas trip, Mallory gains three new companions on her journey to rescue her son.

Road-tripping together across the United States, Mallory, Zadie, Ernie and Jock make an unlikely quartet, but as New York grows closer, so do they. Zadie, Ernie and Jock reveal the real reasons for their American trip, and as all four traveling companions share secrets, re-discover memories, and make new ones, they come to realise the lengths they will travel to save each other, their loved ones – and themselves.

Saving You is the latest novel from much-loved Australian author Charlotte Nash, best known for her hit rural romances including The Paris Wedding, The Horseman and Crystal Creek. While Saving You marks a change of pace for Nash, her talent for crafting compelling, multi-dimensional characters like those that graced the pages of her romance novels is on full display in this new book, too.

All four of the main characters in Saving You are delightful – Zadie, Ernie and Jock provide comic relief and a sympathetic ear when Mallory really aches for Harry – but it’s Mallory who is the real star here. As she makes her way across America to rescue her son, Mallory is challenged in ways she has never been before, but the strength and resilience she shows in the face of adversity will have you cheering her on every step of the way.

Saving You also showcases Nash’s knack for scene-setting and evocative descriptions of place, but while her rural romances swept readers through the dusty Australian outback, this new novel will transport you to the sweeping plains, sprawling cities, and endless highways of America, as you join Mallory, Zadie, Ernie and Jock on their road-trip across the country.

Exploring the unbreakable bond between mother and child, love old and new, and the power of second chances, Saving You is a beautifully written and emotionally gripping read perfect for fans of Fiona McCallum, Fiona Lowe, and Rachael Johns.

About the author:

Charlotte Nash was born in historic Lincoln, England and grew up in the sunny Redland Shire of Brisbane. Obsessed with horses and riding, she began stealing her mother’s Jilly Cooper novels at the age of thirteen, and has been enthusiastic for romance ever since. Always a little unconventional, she took a meandering path to writing through careers in engineering and medicine, including stints building rockets and as an industrial accident investigator. Now she writes romantic stories, and moonlights as a creative writing PhD student, studying how narratives engage the brain. She lives in a cosy Brisbane cottage with her husband and son, and a small flock of loveable chooks.

Purchase a copy of Saving You here.


Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *