Skip to content

Great Kids’ Day Out: Family Fun at Sydney Writer’s Festival

May 1, 2018

Sunday, May 6 is Family Day at the Sydney Writer’s Festival and there’s a terrific line-up of authors, illustrators and highly inventive activities on offer from 10am to 4pm.

The Carriage Works, in Redfern, is the new home for SWF and it’s an easy walk from Redfern station.

There are a number of events that will be running throughout the day, so it doesn’t matter what time you arrive there will always be something exciting to see or do.

 

All-day events not to miss:
Story Time Club House
Sit down and enjoy having a story read to you by a wide range of children’s authors and illustrators – there will be a different one every half an hour. More details here.

Illustrator Battle Rounds
If you have a budding artist on your hands then Illustrator Battle Rounds needs to go on the must-see list for the day. Described as the Olympics of drawing, top children’s book illustrators square off live on stage for the annual drawing showdown. Hosted by James Valentine of ABC Sydney, this event promises to be a lot of fun for the 5+ age group. More details here.

May Gibbs Colouring-In Wall
Fans of Snugglepot and Cuddlepie can celebrate the centenary of the Tales of Snugglepot and Cuddlepie by helping to colour in a giant Gumnut Babies mural. May Gibbs’s Flannel Flowers and Gumnut Babies have enchanted children for 100 years.
More details here.

This is a fantastic opportunity for kids to meet their literary heroes and have a lot of fun in the process!

Check out the full program here.


Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *