Skip to content

Great News To End The Year…

December 18, 2018

We finish 2018 on a high with a big announcement about a legendary Australian author and the single most valuable literary award in the country.

Shortlists announced for 2019 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards

The shortlists for the 2019 Victorian Premier’s Literary awards have been announced. The shortlist consists of six categories – fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, young adult and Indigenous writing – with the winner from each category scoring $25,000 in prize money. The winner of the unpublished manuscript prize receives $15,000, and all award categories go on to contest the $1000,000 Victorian Prize for Literature, the single most valuable literary award in the country. There is also a people’s choice award of $2000 which is announced alongside the winners.

Winners will be announced at a ceremony in Melbourne on the 31st of January 2019.

The Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards were inaugurated by the Victorian Government in 1985 to honour Australian writing.

You can learn more about the award here.

Marsden awarded 2018 Dromkeen Medal

John Marsden, best-selling Australian author of more than 40 books, has been awarded the 2018 Dromkeen Medal.

The Medal, established in 1982, is awarded annually to an Australian resident for outstanding achievement in the creation of Australian children’s and young adult literature.

Marsden’s gripping war series, which began with Tomorrow When The War Began, broke all sales records for young adult fiction. Originally published in 1987, it was his first young adult novel.


That’s it for the week. Keep an eye on our Facebook page for future bookish news bulletins.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *