Skip to content

Stella Prize 2017: Shortlist Announced

March 8, 2017




It’s one of Australia’s most prestigious prizes. The Stella Prize is presented annually to one female Australian author in recognition of their contribution to the literary landscape.

The first Stella Prize was awarded in 2013 and previous winners represent some of Australia’s best contemporary women writers, including Mateship with Birds by Carrie Tiffany (2013), The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka by Clare Wright (2014), The Strays by Emily Bitto (2015), and The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood (2016).

This year judges Delia Falconer, Benjamin Law, Diana Johnston, Sandra Philips, and Brenda Walker stressed that this year’s collection of fiction and non-fiction addresses ‘urgent national issues with particular relevance to women, at a time when women are fighting to be politically seen and heard, and to secure their positions in the public sphere.’

Two of the shortlisted authors – Georgia Blain and Cory Taylor – sadly passed away in 2016.

Here is the shortlist:


Click on the links to find out more about the book or to purchase copies.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *