Skip to content

The Indie Book Awards 2017 – Shortlist Announced

January 16, 2017

7dedb.Indie-Book-Awards-2017-SqAustralian independent booksellers have announced their shortlist for The Indie Book Awards 2017.

The Indie Book Awards, chosen by independent booksellers, members of Leading Edge Books, reward and promote excellence in Australian writing.

Affectionately termed ‘indies’, many of the shortlisted books in previous years went on to be bestsellers and win other major literary awards. Since its inception in 2008, the Indie Book Awards have chosen Breath by Tim Winton, The Happiest Refugee by Anh Do, Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey, All That I Am by Anna Funder, The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman, The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan, The Bush by Don Watson and The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood as previous overall winners.

The twenty shortlisted books will be vying for the top spot as the Indie ‘Book of the Year’ for 2017. The shortlist for The Indie Book Awards 2017 is:


The Good People by Hannah Kent

Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty

Where the Trees Were by Inga Simpson

The Last Painting of Sara de Vos by Dominic Smith


The Hate Race by Maxine Beneba Clarke

Ghost Empire by Richard Fidler

Fight Like a Girl by Clementine Ford

Everywhere I Look by Helen Garner


The Birdman’s Wife by Melissa Ashley

The Midnight Watch by David Dyer

The Dry by Jane Harper

Goodwood by Holly Throsby


Check out the Australian Independent Bookseller for more information.

Looking for the Kids’ titles? Check them out here.

Tagged with:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *