Skip to content

The Ned Kelly Australian Crime Writers Awards Announced

August 22, 2015

The 2015 Ned Kelly Crime Writer Awards (The Neddies) have been announced in Melbourne tonight, with the Ned Kelly Crime Fiction Award going to previous Ned Kelly First Fiction award winner Candice Fox for the breathtaking thriller, Eden.

The 2015 Ned Kelly First Fiction award went to ex-lawyer Jock Serong for his gritty and suspenseful thriller, QuotaAnd the Ned Kelly True Crime Award went to acclaimed Australian author Helen Garner for her heartbreaking story of a true murder trial, This House of Grief.

Congratulations to all the winners and to Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA) who are celebrating the 20th anniversary of Australia’s crime writing awards!

According to its website, the aim of the ACWA is to promote ‘greater recognition for crime, thriller and mystery writing in Australia and to protect the general professional interests of all creators of crime and mystery works.’

Past winners of the Ned Kellys read like a who’s who of Australian crime writing, including Jon Cleary, Peter Corris, Gabrielle Lord, Peter Temple, Michael Robotham, and Garry Disher.

The Awards also celebrate new and emerging talent with the Best First Fiction award, as well as excellence in true crime writing with the True Crime Ned Kelly award.


Stay up-to-date with all the latest book-related news by subscribing here.




This House of Grief




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *