Skip to content

Weekly Round-Up #2

November 9, 2018

Lots happens in the world of books, and sometimes it’s hard to keep up with all the latest news, releases, events, and festivals. So, to make sure you’re always in the know, we’ve created the Better Reading Weekly Round-Up.


Prizes and Awards:

First, there’s some exciting news about some much-loved 2018 titles, as well as some updates about some new and emerging titles to add to our to-be-read pile (which, we know, is growing taller with each passing day).

Walkley Book Award 2018 Shortlist Announced

The Walkley Book Award, which recognises excellence in Australian nonfiction literature and long-form journalism, has released its 2018 shortlist.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • The First Casualty (Peter Greste, Viking)
  • No Front Line: Australia’s Special Forces At War in Afghanistan (Chris Masters, A&U)
  • The House (Helen Pitt, A&U).

Celebrating writers who address ‘enduring subjects from news, eyewitness accounts, investigations and history’, The Walkley Book Award is highly prestigious award. The winner will be announced on the 22nd of November at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre.

2018 Richell Prize Winner Announced

Melbourne-based writer Ruth McIver has won the 2018 Richell Prize for her entry ‘I Shot the Devil’.

Described as ‘dark and unforgettable’ by judges, the novel follows two narratives, one of a journalist in 2010 who is investigating a series of crimes in her hometown, and the other a memoir written in 1994 by someone who was close to the crime.

McIver receives $10, 000 and a mentorship with publisher Hachette to help develop and publish her work.

Now in its fourth year, the Richell Prize was created in memory of former Hachette CEO Matt Richell. This year saw a total of 660 entries, with applicants required to submit the first three chapters of a proposed work of adult or narrative fiction.

You can read the opening chapter posted by The Guardian here.

2018 Barbara Jefferies Award Winner Announced

Libby Angel has won the 2018 Barbara Jefferis Award for her debut novel The Trapeze Act (Text).

The $50,000 is presented every two years for the ‘best novel written by an Australian author that depicts women and girls in a positive way or otherwise empowers the status of women and girls in society.’

The Trapeze Act weaves stories of the circus and the doomed ivory expedition through a novel that is at once a heartbreaking tale of the search for acceptance and a celebration of the lustre and magic of life. The book was described by judge as ‘an audacious tale of a bad-ass mother, and the daughter who emerges from her daunting shadow.’ Definitely one to add to your to-be-read pile!


Authors announced for 2019 Perth Festival Writers Week

The first authors and events have been announced for the 2019 Perth Festival Writers Week, which runs from 18-24 February.

Notable guests include Monica McInerney, Kate Morton, Anna Funder, Markus Zusak, Liz Byrski, and David Malouf.

The theme of the week is ‘Our Imagined Selves’, exploring ‘why your story is part of every story’, with panelists discussing narratives of identity and family.

The full program will be released on 10 January, but until then you can read more about the event here.

That’s it for the week. Keep an eye on our Facebook page for future bookish news bulletins. Happy Reading!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *