Skip to content

Cry of the Curlew

by Peter Watt

Confronting, graphic and erotic, Cry of the Curlew is a riveting novel of Australia’s brutal past from master storyteller Peter Watt. It is the tale of two families, the Macintoshes and the Duffys, who are locked in a deadly battle from the moment squatter Donald Macintosh commits an act of barbarity on his Queensland property. Their paths cross in love, death and revenge as both families fight to tame the wild frontier of Australia’s north country.

Cry of the Curlew and the next two novels in this compelling trilogy, Shadow of the Osprey and Flight of the Eagle, depict our turbulent history as never before.

#62 in  Australia’s Top 100 Favourite Homegrown Reads


01 August, 2000

About Peter Watt

Peter Watt has spent time as a soldier, articled clerk, prawn trawler deckhand, builder's labourer, pipe layer, real estate salesman, private investigator, police sergeant and advisor to the Royal Papua New Guinea Constabulary. He speaks, reads and writes Vietnamese and Pidgin. He now lives at Maclean, on the Clarence River in northern New South Wales. Fishing and the vast open spaces of outback Queensland are his main interests in life.

Other books by Peter Watt


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *