Better Reading Preview: The Girl in the Painting by Tea Cooper

Better Reading Preview: The Girl in the Painting by Tea Cooper

Our next Preview title is The Girl in the Painting by Tea Cooper! To register your interest in being a Preview reviewer for this title, just fill out the form below. Please only enter once, and please note we have 50 copies of this book to give away:

Sorry, the number of entries for this title has been reached. Please look out for our next Preview title, coming soon!

Better Reading Preview: An exclusive chance to read and review free books before anyone else

We invite our trusted community to engage directly with the nation-wide conversation about books by registering for Preview, our new crowd-sourced book review platform. Due to the insight and perceptiveness of our readers, we are launching a platform that allows your voice to be heard.

How do I express interest in reviewing a book?

Like us on Facebook or subscribe to our newsletter (if you haven’t already!) to hear about the next Preview campaign.

When a campaign is launched, the first people to successfully express interest in becoming a Preview reviewer, by filling in the registration form, will be selected to receive and review a free advance copy of the specified book. Usually these advance copies are printed three to four months before they hit bookshops, making Preview a great way to find out about upcoming titles before anyone else.

But be warned – there are only limited copies of each Preview book available for review, so you need to register your interest immediately.

When you register you are expressing interest for the following:

A free advance copy of the specified book sent to your postal address, in exchange for a brief review of the book that may be used for promotional purposes by Better Reading and the relevant publisher.

Important details:

– We need all your details, including your email address and postal address, for your expression of interest to be successful.

– Preview is currently only open to Australia-based readers.

– A successful registration to review a Preview book is for that single title, only. With every new Preview book announced, you will need to express interest again.

– When announced, Preview expressions of interest are open for one week, OR until all reviewing spots have been filled.

– Better Reading and the relevant publisher will never share the details provided by Preview reviewers for any purposes beyond the relevant Preview campaign.

– Preview demand is very high, and there are only limited spots available for each title. To keep things fair, if you fail to provide a review for a Preview title on two occasions, you will unfortunately not be selected for future Preview titles.

What happens after I express interest?

If you have been successful, you will receive a confirmation email shortly afterwards from Better Reading. This will contain a review deadline and a link through which to submit your review. It will also contain other details on the reviewing process.

About your Preview review:

– Preview reviews may feature on the Better Reading website and the Better Reading Facebook page. The relevant publisher may also use the reviews for promotion. When reviews are used for promotional purposes, each reviewer will only be identified by their first name and Australian state. Reviews may be edited slightly, just for the purposes of brevity and clarity.

– Social media posts about Preview may be shared by Better Reading on its social media channels and/ or website.

– All Preview reviews must be no longer than 200 words and must be received by the deadline specified in your confirmation email. You will generally have four weeks to submit your review, from the time you receive your book.

– We want you to have fun with Preview – post photos of your book on Instagram or Facebook when you receive it, and when you’ve read it, share your thoughts using the hashtag #BRPreview. Be sure to tag Better Reading in your posts – we love to hear from our readers! And if you have a Goodreads account, we encourage you to share your reviews there too.

Related Articles

Podcast: Tea Cooper on her Journey from Boarding School to Bestselling Author

Podcast

9 March 2020

Podcast: Tea Cooper on her Journey from Boarding School to Bestselling Author

    I'm Fascinated by Family History: Q&A with The Girl in the Painting Author, Tea Cooper

    News | Author Related

    17 December 2019

    I'm Fascinated by Family History: Q&A with The Girl in the Painting Author, Tea Cooper

      The Girl in the Painting Author, Tea Cooper's Best Books of the Year

      News | Author Related

      17 December 2019

      The Girl in the Painting Author, Tea Cooper's Best Books of the Year

        A Timeless Land: Author Tea Cooper on how Australia inspires her writing

        News

        19 December 2018

        A Timeless Land: Author Tea Cooper on how Australia inspires her writing

          Inspired by Australia: Tea Cooper on writing The Woman in the Green Dress

          News

          19 December 2018

          Inspired by Australia: Tea Cooper on writing The Woman in the Green Dress

            Rich Historical Fiction: Read an extract from The Woman in the Green Dress by Tea Cooper

            News

            19 December 2018

            Rich Historical Fiction: Read an extract from The Woman in the Green Dress by Tea Cooper

              For history and mystery fans: Why The Woman in the Green Dress is a wonderful Christmas gift

              News

              18 December 2018

              For history and mystery fans: Why The Woman in the Green Dress is a wonderful Christmas gift

                Jealousy, Envy, Desire: Review of The Woman in the Green Dress by Tea Cooper

                News

                17 December 2018

                Jealousy, Envy, Desire: Review of The Woman in the Green Dress by Tea Cooper

                  Blending Historical Fiction and Mystery: read a sample chapter from The Naturalist's Daughter by Tea Cooper

                  News

                  12 March 2018

                  Blending Historical Fiction and Mystery: read a sample chapter from The Naturalist's Daughter by Tea Cooper

                    Platypus or Platypii: The Naturalist's Daughter by Tea Cooper

                    News

                    23 January 2018

                    Platypus or Platypii: The Naturalist's Daughter by Tea Cooper

                      Publisher details

                      The Girl in the Painting
                      Author
                      Tea Cooper
                      Publisher
                      Harlequin
                      Genres
                      Australian Fiction, Fiction, Historical Fiction
                      Released
                      16 December, 2019

                      Synopsis

                      For readers of The True Story of Maddie Bright, The Woman in the Green Dress and The Birdman's Wife comes this atmospheric and richly detailed Australian historical mystery from a bestselling Australian author.Maitland 1913 Miss Elizabeth Quinn is something of an institution in Maitland Town. For longer than anyone could remember she and her brother, businessman Michael, have lived in the impressive two-storey stone house next to the church. When she is discovered cowering in the corner of the exhibition gallery at the Technical College the entire town knows something strange has come to pass.Was it the prehistoric remains or perhaps the taxidermy exhibition that had reduced the whale-boned encased pillar of society to a quivering mess? Or is there something odd about a striking painting on loan from the National Gallery?Mathematical savant Jane Piper is determined to find out. Deposited on the doorstep of the local orphanage as a baby, she owes her life and education to the Quinns' philanthropic ventures and Elizabeth has no one else to turn to.As the past and the present converge, Elizabeth's grip on reality loosens. Can Jane, with her logical brain and penchant for puzzles, unravel Elizabeth's story before it is too late?Ranging from the gritty reality of the Australian goldfields to the grand institutions of Sydney, the bucolic English countryside to the charm of Maitland Town, this compelling historical mystery in the company of an eccentric and original heroine is rich with atmosphere and detail.
                      Tea Cooper
                      About the author

                      Tea Cooper

                      Tea Cooper lives in a stone cottage on one hundred acres of bushland, just outside the time-warp village of Wollombi, NSW Australia. When she isn't writing, Tea can be found haunting the local museum or chatting to the locals, who provide her with a never-ending source of inspiration.

                      Books by Tea Cooper

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

                      1. Di Cartwright says:

                        Hi.. I would love to review this book

                      2. Leah McAuliffe says:

                        Oh one of my favourite authors! It would be a pleasure to read and review this book. Just what’s so intriguing about the girl in the painting? I can’t wait to find out…

                      3. Michelle Benson says:

                        I would love to review this book !

                      4. Lorene Furmage says:

                        Intrigued by this book and would love to review it.

                      5. Denise Galligan says:

                        I would love to read and review this book

                      6. Maryanne Podham says:

                        I am intrigued to find out how the painting and the towns matriarch are connected. sign me up please

                      7. John Gough says:

                        Books that connect the Arts with people’s stories connect with me. Too often we see a portrait, and know nothing about the person depicted or how and when and why the painting was created — stories just waiting to be told, and READ!

                      8. Karen Boles says:

                        I would love to review this book please.

                      9. Deanne Jackson says:

                        Yes please.

                      10. Hi I would love to read Tea Cooper’s new book.

                      11. Sounds very interesting! I read and review all my books on Goodreads and on a number of Facebook pages. I also comment on a number of booktube channels and my channel will be coming soon.

                      12. Sue McElligott says:

                        I would love to read and review this book, it looks very intriguing!

                      13. Lisa Carroll says:

                        This sounds like an interesting read

                      14. Natalie says:

                        What an opportunity, the book sounds like it’s right up my alley. I look forward to reading (and hopefully reviewing) this book.

                      15. Judy Merrett says:

                        I would love to read this book!!

                      16. Marion Soubra says:

                        Sounds an interesting read. I would love to review it for you

                      17. Debbie Aksentiew says:

                        I love Tea Cooper book’s.

                      18. Gagan says:

                        I would love to review this book.

                      19. Melissa Mah says:

                        I would love to review and read this book! It sounds like a fascinating book and something I would love to be involved with.