Skip to content

Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Gabriel Garcia Marquez was born on 6 March 1927 in Aractaca, Colombia, and died on 17 April 2014 in Mexico City, aged 87.

He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1982 for a body of work that includes novels, works of non-fiction and collections of short stories.

His most famous works include Leaf Storm (1955), In Evil Hour (1962), One Hundred Years of Solitude (1967), The Autumn of the Patriarch(1975), Chronicle of a Death Foretold (1981), Love in the Time of Cholera (1985), The General in His Labyrinth (1989), News of a Kidnapping (1996), Living to Tell the Tale (2002) and Memories of My Melancholy Whores (2004).

‘Marquez writes in this lyrical, magical language that no-one else can do.’ Salman Rushdie

‘Marquez is a retailer of wonders.’ Sunday Times

‘An exquisite writer, wise, compassionate and extremely funny.’ Sunday Telegraph

‘An imaginative writer of genius.’ Guardian

‘The stories are rich and startling, confident and eloquent. They are magical.‘ John Updike

‘One of this century’s most evocative writers.’ Anne Tyler

‘The proper stuff of Nobel prizes.’ The Times

‘In Evil Hour was the book which was to inspire my own career as a novelist. I owe my writing voice to that one book!’ Jim Crace

‘You’re in the hands of a master.’ Mariella Frostrup

‘A master storyteller.’ Daily Mail

‘An amazing celebration of the many kinds of love between men and women.’ The Times

‘Masterly. He dazzles us with powerful effect.’ New Statesman