Skip to content

Blog


Book People News: Patrick White Literary Award Winner, Voss Literary Prize Short List… and More!

November 18, 2019

Melbourne-based poet Jordie Albiston has been named the winner of the $20,000 Patrick White Literary Award 2019 Perpetual today announced Melbourne-based poet Jordie Albiston as the winner of the 2019 Patrick White Literary Award. The award recognises Jordie Albiston’s accomplishments and numerous collections of work as a poet. Doctor Albiston has published twelve poetry collections, […]
- Read more


A Book to Cherish and Read Again: A Review of Incidental Inventions by Elena Ferrante

‘This is my last column, after a year that has scared and inspired me.’ Bestselling author of My Brilliant Friend, Elena Ferrante was asked by The Guardianto pen a weekly column. There was no set theme to the column, it could be whatever Elena wished it to be. Starting on 20thJanuary 2018 and finishing on 12thJanuary […]
- Read more


Fun, Fresh and Wonderfully Romantic: Read a Review of Our Stop by Laura Jane Williams

What if you almost missed the love of your life? Nadia and Daniel are two souls destined to be together, but life has other plans. This joyful, heart-warming romance will be perfect for fans of Beth O’Leary’s The Flatshare. Nadia gets the 7:30 train every morning. At least, she triesto get the 7:30 train every […]
- Read more


Great Writers, Great Views: A Special Experience Awaits Book-Lovers on Sydney’s Harbour-side Walk of Fame…

It’s Sydney’s own walk of fame, but rather than celebrate Hollywood movie stars, this treasure hunt of sixty brass plaques celebrates writers. Located between the Opera House and the Rocks, the Sydney Writers Walk is a trail of plaques set into the pavement, containing excerpts of each author’s writing as well as a brief biography. […]
- Read more

Tagged with:


Compulsive, Fascinating, Highly Recommended: Read an Extract From Against All Odds by Dr Richard Harris and Dr Craig Challen

November 13, 2019

Start reading now In June 2018, for seventeen days, the world watched and held its breath as the Wild Boars soccer team were trapped deep in a cave in Thailand. Marooned beyond flooded cave passages after unexpected rains, they were finally rescued, one-by-one, against almost impossible odds, by an international cave-diving team which included Australians […]
- Read more

Tagged with: ,


Enthralling and Captivating: A Review of Island on the Edge of the World by Deborah Rodriguez

November 12, 2019

Island on the Edge of the World tells the captivating story of four very different women, coming together under the strangest of circumstances as they all search for answers in the chaotic land of Haiti. We’re introduced to Charlie, working as a hairdresser in Northern California. But her traumatic childhood has left her struggling to find […]
- Read more


The Lost Boys Author Paul Byrnes Writes About Our Underage Anzacs

About the author Paul Byrnes joined The Sydney Morning Herald in 1976, reporting from various corners of the world for a decade, before specialising as a feature writer and film critic. He was director of the Sydney Film Festival for ten years, until 1998. In 2007, he won the Pascall Prize, Australia’s highest award for critical writing in […]
- Read more


There’s Always Good People Willing to Stand up to Dark Forces: Q&A with Alice Hoffman, Author of The World That We Knew

  About the author: Alice Hoffman is the author of more than thirty works of fiction, including The World That We Knew, The Rules of Magic, The Marriage of Opposites, Practical Magic, The Red Garden, the Oprah’s BookClub selection Here on Earth, The Museum of Extraordinary Things, and The Dovekeepers. She lives near Boston. Buy a copy of The World That We Knew here. // […]
- Read more


A Beautifully Poetic Read: Read an Extract From The World That We Knew by Alice Hoffman

Start reading now In Berlin in 1941 during humanity’s darkest hour, three unforgettable young women must act with courage and love to survive, from the New York Times bestselling author of The Dovekeepers and The Marriage of Opposites Alice Hoffman. The World That We Knew is a historical fiction novel set at the beginning of World War 2 in Germany and France. […]
- Read more