Skip to content

Outback Sisters (Bunyip Bay #4)

by Rachael Johns

Want to star in your own rural romance? Head to the Bunyip Bay website where you can enter the competition to be a featured character in Rachael Johns’ next novel!

When a stunningly gorgeous stranger waltzes into Frankie’s Café and kisses her right at the counter, she doesn’t know whether to slap him or kiss him back. Turns out he’d mistaken Frankie for her older sister, Simone, who he had been chatting to on matchmaking website and decided to surprise and meet in person.

Frankie can’t seem to shake the incredible sparks she felt at the mistaken-identity kiss, even as her sister and Logan Knight (even his name sounds handsome) begin to date. Simone and Logan even hope to set up their own respective siblings, but when Logan’s gruff brother Angus comes to town he finds himself charmed by Simone, just as Logan is beginning to realise his affections may lie with a different sister…. Will the two prospective couples work out their true desires without destroying their sibling relationships in the process? And where do we sign up to

This is the fourth novel in bestselling rural romance author Rachael Johns’ Bunyip Bay series, and although the couples from the first few books do pop up, you certainly don’t need to have read those to appreciate this instalmentWhat makes Outback Sisters so easy to read is that the characters feel very genuine. Simone is a widowed single mother to two teenage daughters, and their mother/daughter dialogue will quickly ring true to any parent whose child has made it through the Terrible Teens. The struggles she and some of the other characters have experienced with trying to meet and date new people from the other side of thirty are also very relatable. Simone wasn’t expecting to meet anyone on – no really, her daughters signed her up themselves without her knowledge! It is refreshing to see a frank and fun look at finding love in small town outback Australia in the 21st century.

The book regularly swaps perspective, giving readers a chance to get inside the heads of Frankie, Simone, Angus and Logan and understand how the characters feel about each other, even before they do. While you know the book will have a happy ending, you’re still very invested in their journeys, especially when there are some unexpectedly poignant twists and turns along the way.

If you’re a fan of rural romance and Rachael Johns’ other titles, such as The Patterson GirlsJilted or Man Drought, you’ll fall in love with Frankie, Simone and the strapping Knight brothers in this highly enjoyable bush romp.

Rachael Johns is an English teacher, writer and mother who discovered a passion for contemporary romance she could never extinguish. She lives in rural Western Australia with her husband and three children, although she does admit to having a crush on game-show host Grant Denyer.

#23 in Australia’s Top 100 2016

About Rachael Johns

Rachael Johns is an English teacher by trade, a supermarket owner by day, a mum 24/7, and a writer by night. She lives in rural Western Australia with her hyperactive husband and three mostly-gorgeous heroes-in-training. At 17 she began writing, enlightened by the thought that she could create whatever ending she liked, and almost a decade later, after many, many attempts at writing different types of novels, she joined the Romance Writers of Australia association. It was there that Rachael learnt there was more to writing a book than just typing out random thoughts. She learnt about the craft, conflict, consistent characters, etc, and also discovered that she LOVED contemporary romance! She is the author of The Kissing Season, Tease Me, Cowboy, Man Drought, JiltedOutback Dreams, Outback Blaze, Outback Ghost, The Next Season (ebook), and The Road to Hope.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *