Skip to content

New Look Monica McInerney: Monica’s entire backlist of twelve wonderful novels given a set of fabulous new covers

July 10, 2018

When it comes to writing about human relationships, almost no-one does it better than Monica McInerney. Beloved by generations of Australians who feel like they’ve grown up reading her books, Monica’s moving, thoughtful, funny, whip-smart novels about family life have not only become a favourite among readers around the world, but an important and lasting influence on the Australian literary landscape.

In many ways, Monica is a pioneer in local publishing. At a time when many readers looked elsewhere for inspiration, Monica’s warm, honest, insightful novels sparked a love for Australian writing about the relationships that are central to our lives, that is still growing to this day. Recognised by the Australian book industry with a string of awards and short-listings, respected and loved by all, her success at turning the dramas, let-downs, messes, joy and sheer craziness of family life it into cracking reads, has inspired other writers follow in her wake. Thanks to Monica among others, the field of fiction about the relationships around the hearth that shape us, has grown enormously and is much richer, as a consequence.

The popularity of the SA born writer who divides her life between here and Dublin, always guarantees that a new novel by Monica McInerney is an exciting event on the Australian publishing calendar. In the meanwhile, the good news is that Monica’s entire backlist of twelve wonderful novels from A Taste For It (2001) to The Trip of a Lifetime (2017), have been given a make-over with a set of fabulous new covers. Reminiscent of beautiful vintage fabrics, they’d make beautiful gifts, and treasured treats for collectors.

The new look Monica McInerney titles are in all bookshops now.

About the Author:

One of the stars of Australian fiction, Monica McInerney is the author of the internationally bestselling novels A Taste for ItUpside Down Inside OutSpin the BottleThe Alphabet SistersFamily BaggageThose Faraday GirlsAt Home with the TempletonsLola’s SecretThe House of Memories and a short story collection, All Together Now.

Those Faraday Girls was the winner of the General Fiction Book of the Year prize at the 2008 Australian Book Industry Awards. In 2006 Monica was the ambassador for the Australian Government initiative Books Alive, with her novella Odd One Out.

Monica grew up in a family of seven children in the Clare Valley of South Australia and has been living between Australia and Ireland for twenty years. She and her Irish husband currently live in Dublin.



Tagged with:


  1. Diana

    I have read all of these books ,I remember the first book of hers I bought was the alphabet sisters at the airport in Tasmania to read on the flight home. I hadn’t read in awhile but I couldn’t put it down then when I finished I went out and found another book. I buy the new book once it’s released as I’ve enjoyed them so much. It started me reading

  2. Tanya

    Love. .love Monicas books. ..I have many favourites …
    I particularly enjoy the journey stories of The Alphabet Sisters, Lola’s secret and A Trip of a Lifetime…I also really enjoyed Family baggage…just simply enjoyed reading Monica’s novels. .very talented lady.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *