A Man Called Ove

Publisher details

Author
Fredrik Backman
Publisher
Hachette
Genre
Fiction
Released
12 May, 2015
ISBN
9781444775815

A Man Called Ove

Buy now

Retail partners

Synopsis

The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman's heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and David Nicholl's US. At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets. But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so? In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible...
Fredrik Backman
About the author

Fredrik Backman

Fredrik Backman is a Swedish blogger, columnist and author. His debut novel A Man Called Ove has been a number 1 bestseller across Scandinavia where it has sold over half-a-million copies. Fredrik's second novel, My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises, also went straight to number 1 in Sweden on publication in 2014.

Books by Fredrik Backman

Related articles

Podcast: Caroline Overington on How She Turned Lockdown into a Bestselling Thriller

Podcast

18 October 2021

Podcast: Caroline Overington on How She Turned Lockdown into a Bestselling Thriller

    Better Reading BE: Books That Have Helped Us Recently

    BE

    14 October 2021

    Better Reading BE: Books That Have Helped Us Recently

      Podcast: John Safran on the Smoking Epidemic and the Rise of Vaping

      Podcast

      14 October 2021

      Podcast: John Safran on the Smoking Epidemic and the Rise of Vaping

        Live Book Event: Caroline Overington, Author of The Cuckoo's Cry

        News | Events & Festivals

        14 October 2021

        Live Book Event: Caroline Overington, Author of The Cuckoo's Cry

          You Can Now Buy Books Through the Better Reading Website

          News

          13 October 2021

          You Can Now Buy Books Through the Better Reading Website

            Podcast: Judy Nunn on Writing, Theatre and Showbusiness

            Podcast

            11 October 2021

            Podcast: Judy Nunn on Writing, Theatre and Showbusiness

              Colouring Activity: Horrible Harriet and the Terrible Tantrum by Leigh Hobbs

              News | Book Life

              11 October 2021

              Colouring Activity: Horrible Harriet and the Terrible Tantrum by Leigh Hobbs

              Live Book Event: Tricia Stringer, Author of Birds of a Feather

              News | Events & Festivals

              8 October 2021

              Live Book Event: Tricia Stringer, Author of Birds of a Feather

                Podcast: Tom Keneally on Exploring Rural Australia Through Fiction

                Podcast

                8 October 2021

                Podcast: Tom Keneally on Exploring Rural Australia Through Fiction

                  Podcast: Damien Cave on How Moving to Australia Changed His Relationship with Risk

                  Podcast

                  5 October 2021

                  Podcast: Damien Cave on How Moving to Australia Changed His Relationship with Risk

                    COMMENTS

                    Leave a Reply

                    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *