A Man Called Ove

Publisher details

Author
Fredrik Backman
Publisher
Hachette
Genre
Fiction
Released
12 May, 2015
ISBN
9781444775815

A Man Called Ove

Buy now

Retail partners

Synopsis

The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman's heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and David Nicholl's US. At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets. But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so? In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible...
Fredrik Backman
About the author

Fredrik Backman

Fredrik Backman is a Swedish blogger, columnist and author. His debut novel A Man Called Ove has been a number 1 bestseller across Scandinavia where it has sold over half-a-million copies. Fredrik's second novel, My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises, also went straight to number 1 in Sweden on publication in 2014.

Books by Fredrik Backman

Related articles

Podcast: Annabel Abbs on Why We Need More Food in Fiction

Podcast

21 June 2022

Podcast: Annabel Abbs on Why We Need More Food in Fiction

    Podcast: Catherine Deveny on Honesty, Dyslexia and Being an ‘Arts Tradie’

    Podcast

    20 June 2022

    Podcast: Catherine Deveny on Honesty, Dyslexia and Being an ‘Arts Tradie’

      Podcast: Averil Kenny on Her Deep Connection to Rural Life

      Podcast

      16 June 2022

      Podcast: Averil Kenny on Her Deep Connection to Rural Life

        Peek-a-Boo! The Joy of Lift-the-Flap Books for Kids

        News | Book Life

        15 June 2022

        Peek-a-Boo! The Joy of Lift-the-Flap Books for Kids

        Podcast: Stella Rimington on Her Experience as Director General of MI5

        Podcast

        14 June 2022

        Podcast: Stella Rimington on Her Experience as Director General of MI5

          2022 ABIA Winners Announced!

          News | Awards | Events & Festivals

          10 June 2022

          2022 ABIA Winners Announced!

            Vote Now to Win Better Reading's 2022 Top 50 Kids' Books!

            News

            10 June 2022

            Vote Now to Win Better Reading's 2022 Top 50 Kids' Books!

            Podcast: Brigid Kemmerer on the Fantasy Genre Boom

            Podcast

            9 June 2022

            Podcast: Brigid Kemmerer on the Fantasy Genre Boom

            Podcast: Liane Moriarty on Bestselling Novels and Award-Winning TV Shows

            Podcast

            6 June 2022

            Podcast: Liane Moriarty on Bestselling Novels and Award-Winning TV Shows

              Remarkable Friendships: Better Reading Shares Their Favourite Special Friendships

              News | Book Life

              1 June 2022

              Remarkable Friendships: Better Reading Shares Their Favourite Special Friendships

              COMMENTS

              Leave a Reply

              Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *