A Man Called Ove

Publisher details

A Man Called Ove
Author
Fredrik Backman
Publisher
Hachette
Genre
Fiction
Released
12 May, 2015

Synopsis

The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman's heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and David Nicholl's US. At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets. But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so? In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible...
Fredrik Backman
About the author

Fredrik Backman

Fredrik Backman is a Swedish blogger, columnist and author. His debut novel A Man Called Ove has been a number 1 bestseller across Scandinavia where it has sold over half-a-million copies. Fredrik's second novel, My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises, also went straight to number 1 in Sweden on publication in 2014.

Books by Fredrik Backman

Related articles

Live Book Event: Mary-Lou Stephens in Conversation with Monica McInerney

News | Events & Festivals

4 August 2021

Live Book Event: Mary-Lou Stephens in Conversation with Monica McInerney

    July Better Reading BE: Books For When Life Doesn't Go to Plan

    BE

    4 August 2021

    July Better Reading BE: Books For When Life Doesn't Go to Plan

      Podcast: Zakiya Dalila Harris on Being a Young Black Woman in the Publishing Industry

      Podcast

      3 August 2021

      Podcast: Zakiya Dalila Harris on Being a Young Black Woman in the Publishing Industry

        Podcast: Kyle Perry on Overcoming the Dreaded Second Book Syndrome

        Podcast

        2 August 2021

        Podcast: Kyle Perry on Overcoming the Dreaded Second Book Syndrome

          It's Getting Smelly! Activity from Fart and Burp are Superstinkers by Zoë Foster Blake

          Kids & Ya

          2 August 2021

          It's Getting Smelly! Activity from Fart and Burp are Superstinkers by Zoë Foster Blake

          Live Book Event: Gabriel Bergmoser, Author of The Inheritance

          News | Events & Festivals

          29 July 2021

          Live Book Event: Gabriel Bergmoser, Author of The Inheritance

            Podcast: James Phelps on His Research into the Australian Prison System

            Podcast

            29 July 2021

            Podcast: James Phelps on His Research into the Australian Prison System

              The 2021 Booker Prize Longlist Has Been Revealed

              News | Awards | Book Life

              29 July 2021

              The 2021 Booker Prize Longlist Has Been Revealed

                Live Book Event: Hannah Bent, Author of When Things Are Alive They Hum

                News | Events & Festivals

                27 July 2021

                Live Book Event: Hannah Bent, Author of When Things Are Alive They Hum

                  Podcast: Shannah Kennedy on Allowing Ourselves to be Happy with Plan B

                  Podcast

                  26 July 2021

                  Podcast: Shannah Kennedy on Allowing Ourselves to be Happy with Plan B

                    COMMENTS

                    Leave a Reply

                    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *