A Man Called Ove

Publisher details

A Man Called Ove
Author
Fredrik Backman
Publisher
Hachette
Genre
Fiction
Released
12 May, 2015

Synopsis

The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman's heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and David Nicholl's US. At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets. But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so? In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible...
Fredrik Backman
About the author

Fredrik Backman

Fredrik Backman is a Swedish blogger, columnist and author. His debut novel A Man Called Ove has been a number 1 bestseller across Scandinavia where it has sold over half-a-million copies. Fredrik's second novel, My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises, also went straight to number 1 in Sweden on publication in 2014.

Books by Fredrik Backman

Related articles

Podcast: Book Chat – 2021 Better Reading Top 100

Podcast

13 May 2021

Podcast: Book Chat – 2021 Better Reading Top 100

    Breaking News: Announcing the 2021 Better Reading Top 100

    News | Awards | Book Life | Events & Festivals

    12 May 2021

    Breaking News: Announcing the 2021 Better Reading Top 100

      Podcast: Adam Thompson on Aboriginal Heritage, Muttonbirding and Storytelling

      Podcast

      12 May 2021

      Podcast: Adam Thompson on Aboriginal Heritage, Muttonbirding and Storytelling

        Live Book Event: Amanda Hampson, Author of Lovebirds

        News | Events & Festivals

        10 May 2021

        Live Book Event: Amanda Hampson, Author of Lovebirds

          Podcast: Nikki Gemmell on Writing About Australia's Dark History

          Podcast

          10 May 2021

          Podcast: Nikki Gemmell on Writing About Australia's Dark History

            Podcast: Kate Foster on Raising a Neurodiverse Child

            Podcast

            6 May 2021

            Podcast: Kate Foster on Raising a Neurodiverse Child

              Heartfelt with a Touch of Magic: Read an Extract from A Glasshouse of Stars by Shirley Marr

              Kids & Ya

              5 May 2021

              Heartfelt with a Touch of Magic: Read an Extract from A Glasshouse of Stars by Shirley Marr

              Podcast: Book Chat – Episode 9

              Podcast

              4 May 2021

              Podcast: Book Chat – Episode 9

                Podcast: Nicola Moriarty on Growing up in a Family of Storytellers

                Podcast

                3 May 2021

                Podcast: Nicola Moriarty on Growing up in a Family of Storytellers

                  Podcast: Lisa Harding on Growing Up Around Addiction and the Power of Escapism

                  Podcast

                  30 April 2021

                  Podcast: Lisa Harding on Growing Up Around Addiction and the Power of Escapism

                    COMMENTS

                    Leave a Reply

                    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *