A Man Called Ove

Publisher details

Author
Fredrik Backman
Publisher
Hachette
Genre
Fiction
Released
12 May, 2015
ISBN
9781444775815

A Man Called Ove

Buy now

Retail partners

Synopsis

The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman's heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and David Nicholl's US. At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets. But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so? In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible...
Fredrik Backman
About the author

Fredrik Backman

Fredrik Backman is a Swedish blogger, columnist and author. His debut novel A Man Called Ove has been a number 1 bestseller across Scandinavia where it has sold over half-a-million copies. Fredrik's second novel, My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises, also went straight to number 1 in Sweden on publication in 2014.

Books by Fredrik Backman

Related articles

The Writer's Room: Resources For Aspiring Authors

News | Book Life

21 January 2022

The Writer's Room: Resources For Aspiring Authors

    Podcast: Johann Hari on Why We're Losing Our Ability to Focus

    Podcast

    17 January 2022

    Podcast: Johann Hari on Why We're Losing Our Ability to Focus

      Activity Pack: Terry Denton's Bumper Books of Stuff to Do

      News | Book Life

      13 January 2022

      Activity Pack: Terry Denton's Bumper Books of Stuff to Do

      Colouring-in Fun with Bluey: Hammerbarn

      News | Book Life

      13 January 2022

      Colouring-in Fun with Bluey: Hammerbarn

      Organising Your Books: How Do You Do It?

      News | Book Life

      12 January 2022

      Organising Your Books: How Do You Do It?

        Podcast: Miriam Margolyes on Her Extraordinary Life Story

        Podcast

        10 January 2022

        Podcast: Miriam Margolyes on Her Extraordinary Life Story

          Combined Genius: Author-Illustrator Teams and How They Work Together

          News | Book Life

          6 January 2022

          Combined Genius: Author-Illustrator Teams and How They Work Together

          Live Book Event: Fiona Palmer, Author of The Long Weekend

          News | Events & Festivals

          5 January 2022

          Live Book Event: Fiona Palmer, Author of The Long Weekend

            Incredible and Inspiring: 5 Books That Tell Amazing True Stories

            News | Book Life

            5 January 2022

            Incredible and Inspiring: 5 Books That Tell Amazing True Stories

              Podcast: Fleur McDonald on Writing Rural Fiction

              Podcast

              4 January 2022

              Podcast: Fleur McDonald on Writing Rural Fiction

                COMMENTS

                Leave a Reply

                Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *