Hear Me Roar

Publisher details

Synopsis

In a life-changing move after the birth of their first son, Ben Robertson enthusiastically volunteers for the role of ‘Mr Mum’ while his wife returns to work as the main breadwinner. As a stay-at-home dad, Ben is pushed to the depths of tiredness, frustration and despair, moments he shares equally with the heights of great joy and energy. Looking after small children becomes the hardest and most rewarding job Ben has done. Why then are some days filled with happiness while others are completely soul-destroying? And why does it sometimes leave him feeling lonely, confused and lacking in confidence? Ego-crushing moments lurk around every corner: ‘Mummy’s going off to work. You’re going nowhere!’As Ben tackles these questions head on, he must also confront his relationship with his estranged father who is dying from cancer. This unexpected new reality forces Ben to evaluate not only his role as a father but also what it means to be ‘a man’ in a modern society, where cultural boundaries are constantly shifting.More than just amusing anecdotes about exploding nappies and pushing prams – these, of course, are included – Hear Me Roar gets to the heart of complex issues like anxiety and depression, which sometimes go hand-inhand with child rearing, and, for the most part, are brought on by isolation and tiredness.In the tradition of Nigel Marsh’s Fat, Forty and Fired comes Hear Me Roar: The Story of a Stay-at-Home Dad. Written with an engaging mix of humour, brutal honesty and a dark edge, journalist and author Ben Robertson tackles child-rearing issues from a man’s perspective, making this memoir a rare read on being a dad, warts and all.
Ben Robertson
About the author

Ben Robertson

Books by Ben Robertson

Related articles

Live Book Event: Kyle Perry, Author of The Bluffs

News | Events & Festivals

13 July 2020

Live Book Event: Kyle Perry, Author of The Bluffs

    Podcast: Susan Allot on Life in the UK and how Environment Shapes our Writing

    Podcast

    13 July 2020

    Podcast: Susan Allot on Life in the UK and how Environment Shapes our Writing

      Voting open now:  Australia's Top 50 Kids Books!

      News | Awards

      13 July 2020

      Voting open now: Australia's Top 50 Kids Books!

      Acknowledgment of Country

      News

      8 July 2020

      Acknowledgment of Country

        Live Book Event: Chat with Sheila O'Flanagan

        News | Events & Festivals

        8 July 2020

        Live Book Event: Chat with Sheila O'Flanagan

          Live Book Launch: Kate Grenville's A Room Made of Leaves

          News | Events & Festivals

          6 July 2020

          Live Book Launch: Kate Grenville's A Room Made of Leaves

            A runaway, a baby and whole lot of questions: Teaching resources for When Rain Turns To Snow by Jane Godwin

            News | Book Life

            6 July 2020

            A runaway, a baby and whole lot of questions: Teaching resources for When Rain Turns To Snow by Jane Godwin

            It's About the Brain: Why Do We Still Bother With Books… When There’s So Much Online?

            News | Book Life

            6 July 2020

            It's About the Brain: Why Do We Still Bother With Books… When There’s So Much Online?

              Podcast: Hayley Katzen on Finding her Place in the World

              Podcast

              6 July 2020

              Podcast: Hayley Katzen on Finding her Place in the World

                The story behind Hodgepodge: How To Make a Pet Monster 1 by Lili Wilkinson and Dustin Spence

                News | Author Related

                3 July 2020

                The story behind Hodgepodge: How To Make a Pet Monster 1 by Lili Wilkinson and Dustin Spence

                COMMENTS

                Leave a Reply

                Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *