Hear Me Roar

Publisher details

Synopsis

In a life-changing move after the birth of their first son, Ben Robertson enthusiastically volunteers for the role of ‘Mr Mum’ while his wife returns to work as the main breadwinner. As a stay-at-home dad, Ben is pushed to the depths of tiredness, frustration and despair, moments he shares equally with the heights of great joy and energy. Looking after small children becomes the hardest and most rewarding job Ben has done. Why then are some days filled with happiness while others are completely soul-destroying? And why does it sometimes leave him feeling lonely, confused and lacking in confidence? Ego-crushing moments lurk around every corner: ‘Mummy’s going off to work. You’re going nowhere!’As Ben tackles these questions head on, he must also confront his relationship with his estranged father who is dying from cancer. This unexpected new reality forces Ben to evaluate not only his role as a father but also what it means to be ‘a man’ in a modern society, where cultural boundaries are constantly shifting.More than just amusing anecdotes about exploding nappies and pushing prams – these, of course, are included – Hear Me Roar gets to the heart of complex issues like anxiety and depression, which sometimes go hand-inhand with child rearing, and, for the most part, are brought on by isolation and tiredness.In the tradition of Nigel Marsh’s Fat, Forty and Fired comes Hear Me Roar: The Story of a Stay-at-Home Dad. Written with an engaging mix of humour, brutal honesty and a dark edge, journalist and author Ben Robertson tackles child-rearing issues from a man’s perspective, making this memoir a rare read on being a dad, warts and all.
Ben Robertson
About the author

Ben Robertson

Books by Ben Robertson

Related articles

The Genesis of Dear Edward was my Obsession with a Real Plane Crash: Q&A with Ann Napolitano

News | Author Related

21 January 2020

The Genesis of Dear Edward was my Obsession with a Real Plane Crash: Q&A with Ann Napolitano

    Blockbuster Program for Young Readers: Adelaide Writer's Week

    News | Events & Festivals

    21 January 2020

    Blockbuster Program for Young Readers: Adelaide Writer's Week

    Podcast: Katherine Johnson PhD to Novel with Paris Savages

    Podcast

    21 January 2020

    Podcast: Katherine Johnson PhD to Novel with Paris Savages

      Podcast: Mary Moody on Life After the Loss of her Husband

      Podcast

      20 January 2020

      Podcast: Mary Moody on Life After the Loss of her Husband

        Book News: ARRA Finalists and SWF Save the Date

        News | Awards | Book Life

        20 January 2020

        Book News: ARRA Finalists and SWF Save the Date

          It's Important to Understand That You’re Not Alone: Q&A with Kevin Wilson, Author of Nothing to See Here

          News | Author Related

          20 January 2020

          It's Important to Understand That You’re Not Alone: Q&A with Kevin Wilson, Author of Nothing to See Here

            Bohemian Bondi: A Beachside Bookstore Inspired by a Famous Parisian Salon

            News | Book Life

            20 January 2020

            Bohemian Bondi: A Beachside Bookstore Inspired by a Famous Parisian Salon

              I Read Memoirs on Women's Rights in India: Q&A with A Murder at Malabar Hill's Author, Sujata Massey

              News | Author Related

              16 January 2020

              I Read Memoirs on Women's Rights in India: Q&A with A Murder at Malabar Hill's Author, Sujata Massey

                I'm Fascinated by Cults: Q&A with In the Clearing Author, J.P. Pomare

                News | Author Related

                16 January 2020

                I'm Fascinated by Cults: Q&A with In the Clearing Author, J.P. Pomare

                  The Better Reading Team's 2020 Reading Resolutions

                  News | Book Life

                  16 January 2020

                  The Better Reading Team's 2020 Reading Resolutions

                    COMMENTS

                    Leave a Reply

                    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *