Skip to content

Here Be Dragons

by Sharon Penman

Set in the 13th Century, Here Be Dragons is the story of King John and his England. A paradoxical man, he was charming, generous, clever – and he was unstable and brutal. For centuries, history regarded him as a bad king, yet history also tells us he was intent on bringing a measure of justice to his realm.

Here Be Dragons is also the story of Llewelyn the Great of Wales. At 14, he began a civil war; by 21, he held all North Wales. He was John’s vassal — and most bitter enemy. His dream of a free and united Wales, unencumbered by English laws or lords, was to spur a lifelong crusade that left little time for peace or pleasure.

And, at its heart, Here Be Dragons is the story of Joanna: daughter to one, wife to the other. Bastard-born, hidden from her father until her embittered mother’s death, then brought, a bewildered five-year-old, to John’s court.  Joanna was trapped in the crossfire of their implacable enmity.

Here Be Dragons will not disappoint Sharon Penman’s loyal following.


About Sharon Penman

Sharon Kay Penman is the author of seven critically acclaimed historical novels: The Sunne in Splendour, Here be Dragons, Falls the Shadow, The Reckoning, When Christ and his Saints Slept, Time and Chance, and Devil’s Brood. She has also written four medieval mysteries. Her first was The Queen’s Man, the queen in question being Eleanor of Aquitaine, a finalist for an Edgar Award for Best First Mystery from the Mystery Writers of America. Her other mysteries are Cruel as the Grave, Dragon’s Lair, and Prince of Darkness. She lives in New Jersey.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *