I Don’t Care about Your Band

Synopsis

In the tradition of Cynthia Heimel and Chelsea Handler, and with the boisterous iconoclasm of Amy Sedaris, Julie Klausner's candid and funny debut I Don't Care About Your Band sheds light on the humiliations we endure to find love--and the lessons that can be culled from the wreckage. I Don't Care About Your Band posits that lately the worst guys to date are the ones who seem sensitive. It's the jerks in nice guy clothing, not the players in Ed Hardy, who break the hearts of modern girls who grew up in the shadow of feminism, thinking they could have everything, but end up compromising constantly. The cowards, the kidults, the critics, and the contenders: these are the stars of Klausner's memoir about how hard it is to find a man--good or otherwise-- when you're a cynical grown-up exiled in the dregs of Guyville.Off the popularity of her New York Times "Modern Love" piece about getting the brush-off from an indie rock musician, I Don't care About Your Band is marbled with the wry strains of Julie Klausner's precocious curmudgeonry and brimming with truths that anyone who's ever been on a date will relate to. Klausner is an expert at landing herself waist-deep in crazy, time and time again, in part because her experience as a comedy writer (Best Week Ever, TV Funhouse on SNL) and sketch comedian from NYC's Upright Citizens Brigade fuels her philosophy of how any scene should unfold, which is, "What? That sounds crazy? Okay, I'll do it."I Don't Care About Your Band charts a distinctly human journey of a strong-willed but vulnerable protagonist who loves men like it's her job, but who's done with guys who know more about love songs than love. Klausner's is a new outlook on dating in a time of pop culture obsession, and she spent her 20's doing personal field research to back up her philosophies. This is the girl's version of High Fidelity. By turns explicit, funny and moving, Klausner's debut shows the evolution of a young woman who endured myriad encounters with the wrong guys, to emerge with real- world wisdom on matters of the heart. I Don't Care About Your Band is Julie Klausner's manifesto, and every one of us can relate.
Julie Klausner
About the author

Julie Klausner

Julie Klausner is a New York City-based author, comedian, podcaster, and comedy writer-performer. Klausner currently writes and co-stars in the Hulu sitcom Difficult People, with comedian Billy Eichn

Books by Julie Klausner

Related articles

Live Book Event: Kyle Perry, Author of The Bluffs

News | Events & Festivals

13 July 2020

Live Book Event: Kyle Perry, Author of The Bluffs

    Podcast: Susan Allot on Life in the UK and how Environment Shapes our Writing

    Podcast

    13 July 2020

    Podcast: Susan Allot on Life in the UK and how Environment Shapes our Writing

      Voting open now:  Australia's Top 50 Kids Books!

      News | Awards

      13 July 2020

      Voting open now: Australia's Top 50 Kids Books!

      Acknowledgment of Country

      News

      8 July 2020

      Acknowledgment of Country

        Live Book Event: Chat with Sheila O'Flanagan

        News | Events & Festivals

        8 July 2020

        Live Book Event: Chat with Sheila O'Flanagan

          Live Book Launch: Kate Grenville's A Room Made of Leaves

          News | Events & Festivals

          6 July 2020

          Live Book Launch: Kate Grenville's A Room Made of Leaves

            A runaway, a baby and whole lot of questions: Teaching resources for When Rain Turns To Snow by Jane Godwin

            News | Book Life

            6 July 2020

            A runaway, a baby and whole lot of questions: Teaching resources for When Rain Turns To Snow by Jane Godwin

            It's About the Brain: Why Do We Still Bother With Books… When There’s So Much Online?

            News | Book Life

            6 July 2020

            It's About the Brain: Why Do We Still Bother With Books… When There’s So Much Online?

              Podcast: Hayley Katzen on Finding her Place in the World

              Podcast

              6 July 2020

              Podcast: Hayley Katzen on Finding her Place in the World

                The story behind Hodgepodge: How To Make a Pet Monster 1 by Lili Wilkinson and Dustin Spence

                News | Author Related

                3 July 2020

                The story behind Hodgepodge: How To Make a Pet Monster 1 by Lili Wilkinson and Dustin Spence

                COMMENTS

                Leave a Reply

                Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *