If This Gets Out

Publisher details

Authors
Cale Dietrich, Sophie Gonzales
Publisher
Lothian Children’s Books
Genre
Young Adult Fiction
Released
14 December, 2021
ISBN
9781444963793

If This Gets Out

Buy now

Retail partners

Synopsis

Recommended for ages 12+.

One of the world's biggest boy bands. A secret love. What happens if the world finds out? A queer YA boy band romance from Sophie Gonzales and Cale Dietrich, perfect for fans of Only Mostly Devastated and What If It's Us.

Eighteen-year-olds Ruben Montez and Zach Knight are two members of the boy-band Saturday, one of the biggest acts in America. Along with their bandmates, Angel Phan and Jon Braxton, the four are teen heartbreakers in front of the cameras and best friends backstage. But privately, cracks are starting to form: their once-easy rapport is straining under the pressures of fame, and Ruben confides in Zach that he's feeling smothered by management's pressure to stay in the closet.

On a whirlwind tour through Europe, with both an unrelenting schedule and minimal supervision, Ruben and Zach come to rely on each other more and more, and their already close friendship evolves into a romance. But when they decide they're ready to tell their fans and live freely, Zach and Ruben start to truly realize that they will never have the support of their management. How can they hold tight to each other when the whole world seems to want to come between them?

Cale Dietrich
About the author

Cale Dietrich

Cale Dietrich is a YA devotee, lifelong gamer, and tragic pop punk enthusiast. He was born in Perth, grew up on the Gold Coast, and now lives in Brisbane, Australia.

Books by Cale Dietrich

Sophie Gonzales
About the author

Sophie Gonzales

Sophie Gonzales is a YA contemporary author. She graduated from the University of Adelaide and lives in Adelaide, Australia. When she isn't writing, she can be found ice skating, performing in musical theatre, and practicing the piano.

Books by Sophie Gonzales

Related articles

Vote Now to Win Better Reading's 2024 Top 50 Kids' Books!

News | Book Life

24 June 2024

Vote Now to Win Better Reading's 2024 Top 50 Kids' Books!

Q&A: Jenny Lecoat, Author of Beyond Summerland

News | Author Related

16 July 2024

Q&A: Jenny Lecoat, Author of Beyond Summerland

    A Year of Fresh Voices: 5 Compelling Debut Novels

    News | Featured

    16 July 2024

    A Year of Fresh Voices: 5 Compelling Debut Novels

    PODCAST: Jake Adelstein on Working in Japan and His Career Trajectory as a Journalist

    Podcast

    15 July 2024

    PODCAST: Jake Adelstein on Working in Japan and His Career Trajectory as a Journalist

      Q&A: Anna Johnston, Author of The Borrowed Life by Frederick Fife

      News | Author Related

      10 July 2024

      Q&A: Anna Johnston, Author of The Borrowed Life by Frederick Fife

        Celebrate First Nations Languages and Culture: 5 Bright, Fun and Bilingual Kids’ Books

        News | Book Life | Events & Festivals

        10 July 2024

        Celebrate First Nations Languages and Culture: 5 Bright, Fun and Bilingual Kids’ Books

        Glamorous and Gripping: Read an extract from Death in the Air by Ram Murali

        News

        9 July 2024

        Glamorous and Gripping: Read an extract from Death in the Air by Ram Murali

          Podcast: Julia Lawrinson on The Unconventional Relationships and Identity Exploration

          Podcast

          8 July 2024

          Podcast: Julia Lawrinson on The Unconventional Relationships and Identity Exploration

            Q&A: Michael Robotham, Author of Storm Child

            News | Author Related

            2 July 2024

            Q&A: Michael Robotham, Author of Storm Child

              PODCAST: Francesca de Tores on Unveiling Gender Identity Through Historical Fiction

              Podcast

              1 July 2024

              PODCAST: Francesca de Tores on Unveiling Gender Identity Through Historical Fiction

                PODCAST: Rachel Treasure on The Transformative Power of Literature in Advocating for Change

                Podcast

                27 June 2024

                PODCAST: Rachel Treasure on The Transformative Power of Literature in Advocating for Change

                  COMMENTS

                  Leave a Reply

                  Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *