Publisher details

Ruins
Author
Rajith Savanadasa
Publisher
Hachette
Genre
Fiction
Released
28 June, 2016

Synopsis

n the pent-up heat of Colombo, piece by piece, a family comes apart.A stunning debut novel from a fresh voice in Australian fiction, for fans of Zadie Smith and Rohinton Mistry.'Ruins is a stirring and skilfully crafted debut, and Savanadasa's characters are so vividly drawn they feel like family. With his sharp and masterful observations of race, class and gender in the "new" Sri Lanka, Savanadasa takes his seat beside Omar Musa, Alice Pung and Michael Mohammed Ahmad to usher in the brave and stunning new dawn of diverse Australian fiction.' Maxine Beneba Clarke, author of Foreign SoilA country picking up the pieces, a family among the ruins...In the restless streets, crowded waiting rooms and glittering nightclubs of Colombo, five family members find their bonds stretched to breaking point in the aftermath of the Sri Lankan civil war.Latha wants a home. Anoushka wants an iPod.Mano hopes to win his wife back.Lakshmi dreams of rescuing a lost boy.And Niranjan needs big money so he can leave them all behind.As the five leave Colombo to travel to an ancient city, the generations collide and long-held prejudices surface. With one foot in the old way of life and one firmly in the new, this family can never be what it once was.'A rich and colourful story of family and country, its complexity revealed in layers . . . Only through the eyes of others can we begin to see a place.' Inga Simpson, author of Mr Wigg and Nest.
Rajith Savanadasa
About the author

Rajith Savanadasa

Rajith Savanadasa was born in Sri Lanka and now lives in Melbourne. He turned to creative writing in the final year of an engineering degree, which he followed up with the Professional Writing and Editing course at RMIT University. He was shortlisted for the Asia-Europe Foundation short story prize in 2013, the Fish Publishing short story prize in 2013, received a Wheeler Centre Hotdesk Fellowship in 2014 and was part of the QWC/Hachette Manuscript Development Program in 2014. Rajith is also the founder and primary contributor to Open City Stories, a website documenting the lives of a group of asylum seekers in Melbourne.

Books by Rajith Savanadasa

Related articles

It's About the Brain: Why Do We Still Bother With Books… When There’s So Much Online?

News | Book Life

6 July 2020

It's About the Brain: Why Do We Still Bother With Books… When There’s So Much Online?

    Podcast: Hayley Katzen on Finding her Place in the World

    Podcast

    6 July 2020

    Podcast: Hayley Katzen on Finding her Place in the World

      The story behind Hodgepodge: How To Make a Pet Monster 1 by Lili Wilkinson and Dustin Spence

      News | Author Related

      3 July 2020

      The story behind Hodgepodge: How To Make a Pet Monster 1 by Lili Wilkinson and Dustin Spence

      Bookstagram is Heaven for Book Lovers

      News | Book Life

      30 June 2020

      Bookstagram is Heaven for Book Lovers

        Book Launch: Anna Downes’s Debut Fiction, The Safe Place - Join Us Live

        News | Events & Festivals

        29 June 2020

        Book Launch: Anna Downes’s Debut Fiction, The Safe Place - Join Us Live

          Podcast: Jacqueline Harvey on why Reading is Important for Kids, and How to Make it fun for Them at Home

          Podcast

          29 June 2020

          Podcast: Jacqueline Harvey on why Reading is Important for Kids, and How to Make it fun for Them at Home

            Do You Dream of Writing a Book? Watch Dervla's Writing Studio

            News | Events & Festivals

            29 June 2020

            Do You Dream of Writing a Book? Watch Dervla's Writing Studio

              Podcast: Chris Flynn on the Climate, Science and the Future of Cloning

              Podcast

              29 June 2020

              Podcast: Chris Flynn on the Climate, Science and the Future of Cloning

                Deep sympathy for the natural world: Notes to help you delve further into Diary of a Young Naturalist

                News | Author Related

                24 June 2020

                Deep sympathy for the natural world: Notes to help you delve further into Diary of a Young Naturalist

                Happy birthday Grug!  Celebrating 40 years of a true-blue dinky-di Aussie character

                News | Book Life

                24 June 2020

                Happy birthday Grug! Celebrating 40 years of a true-blue dinky-di Aussie character

                COMMENTS

                Leave a Reply

                Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *