Skip to content

Seven Ancient Wonders (Jack West #1)

by Matthew Reilly

Thousands of years ago, a magnificent golden capstone sat atop the Great Pyramid of Giza. Glorious and beautiful, it was also a source of immense power, capable of bestowing upon its holder absolute global rule for a thousand years…

But then, in 323 BC, the capstone was broken into seven pieces and spread to the corners of the earth. It would be hidden within the greatest structures of the age: structures that would become known as the Seven Ancient Wonders of the World.

Now, with the coming of a rare solar event, the time has come to locate the pieces and rebuild the capstone.

Everyone wants it. From the greatest, most powerful countries on earth, to gangs of evil terrorists… and one daring coalition of eight small nations who think no single country should possess such an awesome power source.

And so, led by the mysterious Captain Jack West Jr, this determined group enters the fray, a global battlefield filled with viciously booby-trapped mines, stupendous Ancient Wonders, gigantic evil forces, and an adventure beyond imagining.

#73 Australia’s Top 100 2016

“Nobody writes action like Matthew Reilly.”   Vince Flynn , New York Times bestselling author of Act of Treason

“Exciting and Entertaining.”   Chicago Sun Times

“A nonstop rollercoaster ride.”   Library Journal


About Matthew Reilly

Matthew Reilly is the international bestselling of author of twelve novels: ContestIce StationTempleArea 7ScarecrowHover Car RacerHell IslandSeven Ancient WondersThe Six Sacred StonesThe Five Greatest WarriorsScarecrow and the Army of Thieves and The Tournament. His thirteenth novel, The Great Zoo of China, is published for Christmas, 2014. Matthew’s books are published in over 20 languages and he has sold approximately 5 million books worldwide: 3 million in Australia; over a million in the US; and over a million in the UK. In 2011, Scarecrow and the Army of Thieves was the biggest selling fiction title released in Australia for that year. Three more of Matthew’s books have been the biggest-selling Australian fiction titles of their year of release: The Tournament (2013), Seven Ancient Wonders (2005), The Five Greatest Warriors (2009). Matthew has also written two novellas: in 2005, he wrote Hell Island for the Australian Government’s Books Alive project and in 2014 he released the epic fantasy-quest ebook Troll Mountain. Matthew has written several short stories, including Roger Ascham and the King’s Lost Girl, a special free prequel to The Tournament which is available online. Other short stories include Time ToursThe Mine and the hyper-adrenalised romp, Altitude Rush. Matthew was appointed to the Australian Government’s Public Lending Right and Educational Lending Right Committee in 2007. He served on that committee till the end of 2011. Matthew has done speeches at libraries across Australia and around the world, from Minlaton to Edinburgh, from Cape Town to Houston. He owns and drives a DeLorean DMC-12, the car made famous in the Back to the Future movies. He also has a life-sized Han Solo in carbonite hanging on the wall of his office!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *