Skip to content

Shadow of the Moon

by M.M. Kaye

Shadow of the Moon is the story of Winter de Ballesteros, a beautiful English heiress who has come to India to be married. It is also the tale of Captain Alex Randall, her escort and protector, who knows that Winter’s husband to be has become a debauched wreck of a man.

When India bursts into flaming hatreds and bitter bloodshed during the dark days of the Mutiny, Alex and Winter are thrown unwillingly together in the brutal and urgent struggle for survival.

A closely interwoven story of love and war whose descriptive prose is so evocative that you can actually see and – much more – smell India as the country assaults you from the page’ SUNDAY TELEGRAPH

Another splendid tale of India’ WALL STREET JOURNAL


01 January, 1979

About M.M. Kaye

M. M. Kaye was born in India and spent most of her childhood and much of her early married life in that country. Her ties with India are strong: her grandfather, father, brother and husband all served the Raj, and her grandfather's first cousin, Sir John Kaye, wrote the standard accounts of the Indian Mutiny and the first Afghan War. When India achieved independence her husband joined the British Army, and for the next nineteen years she followed the drum to all sorts of exciting places she would not otherwise have seen, including Kenya, Zanzibar, Egypt, Cyprus and Berlin. M. M. Kaye is best-known for her highly successful historical novels, including the bestselling The Far Pavilions, Shadow of the Moon and Trade Wind, all published by Penguin, and for her detective novels, which include Death in Berlin, Death in Kenya and Death in Cyprus (also published by Penguin in one volume entitled Murder Abroad), and Death in Zanzibar, Death in Kashmir and Death in the Andamans, also collected together in one volume. Penguin also publish the first volume of her autobiography, The Sun in the Morning. The second volume, Golden Afternoon, was published by Viking. M. M. Kaye has also written a children's story, The Ordinary Princess (1991).

Other books by M.M. Kaye


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *