Sheerwater

Reviews

Sheerwater by Leah Swann: Your Preview Verdict

Review | News | Preview

8 April 2020

Sheerwater by Leah Swann: Your Preview Verdict

    Sheerwater Author Leah Swann Explains how 'The First Scene Arrived in my Mind'

    Review | Author Related

    31 March 2020

    Sheerwater Author Leah Swann Explains how 'The First Scene Arrived in my Mind'

      Take a Sneak Peek at Leah Swann's Extraordinary Literary Debut, Sheerwater

      Review | Extract

      23 March 2020

      Take a Sneak Peek at Leah Swann's Extraordinary Literary Debut, Sheerwater

        Tense, Emotional, Unforgettable: Review of Sheerwater by Leah Swann

        Review | Our Review

        23 March 2020

        Tense, Emotional, Unforgettable: Review of Sheerwater by Leah Swann

          Publisher details

          Sheerwater
          Author
          Leah Swann
          Publisher
          HarperCollins
          Genre
          Fiction
          Released
          23 March, 2020

          Synopsis

          Emotional, powerful, unforgettable. From a stunning new literary talent, you won't be able to put down this novel about a mother's love for her children - it will break your heart.Ava and her two young sons, Max and Teddy, are driving to their new home in Sheerwater, hopeful of making a fresh start in a new town, although Ava can't but help keep looking over her shoulder. They're almost at their destination when they witness a shocking accident - a light plane crashing in the field next to the road. Ava stops to help, but when she gets back to the car, she realises that somewhere, amongst the smoke, fire and confusion, her sons have gone missing...From a substantial new Australian writing talent, Sheerwater is tense, emotional, unforgettable. Perfect for readers of Mark Brandi's Wimmera and Stephanie Bishop's The Other Side of the World, this is a beautifully written, propulsive, gut-wrenching and unputdownable novel - an aching, powerful story of the heroic acts we are capable of in the name of love.
          Leah Swann
          About the author

          Leah Swann

          Leah Swann is an award-winning author and journalist currently employed at World Vision Australia as the CEO's chief speech writer. Her critically acclaimed collection of stories, Bearings, was published by Affirm in 2011. Her fantasy series for middle grade readers, Irina: The Trilogy, was published by Xoum between 2012 and 2015, with some young readers calling it 'the best book since Harry Potter'. Swann was the inaugural first place winner of the Overland Story Wine prize for her story That Inward Eye. Swann's literary fiction, poetry and essays have been published in Meanjin, The Best Australian Stories, The World To Come, Australian Love Stories, Award Winning Australian Writing, page seventeen, Review of Australian Fiction, Australian Country Style, Reflecting on Melbourne, and The Glasgow Herald.

          Books by Leah Swann

          Related articles

          Top secrets of truly great storytime readers and storytellers

          News | Book Life

          7 August 2020

          Top secrets of truly great storytime readers and storytellers

          Get creative and celebrate Fathers Day with this awesome activity pack

          Kids & Ya

          7 August 2020

          Get creative and celebrate Fathers Day with this awesome activity pack

          Dr Randa Abdel-Fattah: A Conversation on Diversity in Children's Writing #1

          Kids & Ya

          7 August 2020

          Dr Randa Abdel-Fattah: A Conversation on Diversity in Children's Writing #1

          Live Book Event, Greg Woodland, Author of The Night Whistler

          News

          6 August 2020

          Live Book Event, Greg Woodland, Author of The Night Whistler

            Rachel Bin Salleh: A Conversation on Diversity in Children’s Writing #6

            Podcast

            4 August 2020

            Rachel Bin Salleh: A Conversation on Diversity in Children’s Writing #6

              Deborah Abela: A Conversation About Diversity in Children’s Writing #5

              News

              4 August 2020

              Deborah Abela: A Conversation About Diversity in Children’s Writing #5

                Laura Bloom: A Conversation About Diversity in Children’s Writing #4

                Podcast

                3 August 2020

                Laura Bloom: A Conversation About Diversity in Children’s Writing #4

                  Will Kostakis: A Conversation About Diversity in Children’s Writing #3

                  Podcast

                  3 August 2020

                  Will Kostakis: A Conversation About Diversity in Children’s Writing #3

                    Podcast: Robyn Harding on How Living in a Small Town Inspired her Writing

                    Podcast

                    3 August 2020

                    Podcast: Robyn Harding on How Living in a Small Town Inspired her Writing

                      Maxine Beneba Clarke: A Conversation on Diversity in Children’s Writing #2

                      Podcast

                      30 July 2020

                      Maxine Beneba Clarke: A Conversation on Diversity in Children’s Writing #2

                        COMMENTS

                        Leave a Reply

                        Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *