Sheerwater

Reviews

Sheerwater by Leah Swann: Your Preview Verdict

Review | News | Preview

8 April 2020

Sheerwater by Leah Swann: Your Preview Verdict

    Sheerwater Author Leah Swann Explains how 'The First Scene Arrived in my Mind'

    Review | Author Related

    31 March 2020

    Sheerwater Author Leah Swann Explains how 'The First Scene Arrived in my Mind'

      Take a Sneak Peek at Leah Swann's Extraordinary Literary Debut, Sheerwater

      Review | Extract

      23 March 2020

      Take a Sneak Peek at Leah Swann's Extraordinary Literary Debut, Sheerwater

        Tense, Emotional, Unforgettable: Review of Sheerwater by Leah Swann

        Review | Our Review

        23 March 2020

        Tense, Emotional, Unforgettable: Review of Sheerwater by Leah Swann

          Publisher details

          Sheerwater
          Author
          Leah Swann
          Publisher
          HarperCollins
          Genre
          Fiction
          Released
          23 March, 2020

          Synopsis

          Emotional, powerful, unforgettable. From a stunning new literary talent, you won't be able to put down this novel about a mother's love for her children - it will break your heart.Ava and her two young sons, Max and Teddy, are driving to their new home in Sheerwater, hopeful of making a fresh start in a new town, although Ava can't but help keep looking over her shoulder. They're almost at their destination when they witness a shocking accident - a light plane crashing in the field next to the road. Ava stops to help, but when she gets back to the car, she realises that somewhere, amongst the smoke, fire and confusion, her sons have gone missing...From a substantial new Australian writing talent, Sheerwater is tense, emotional, unforgettable. Perfect for readers of Mark Brandi's Wimmera and Stephanie Bishop's The Other Side of the World, this is a beautifully written, propulsive, gut-wrenching and unputdownable novel - an aching, powerful story of the heroic acts we are capable of in the name of love.
          Leah Swann
          About the author

          Leah Swann

          Leah Swann is an award-winning author and journalist currently employed at World Vision Australia as the CEO's chief speech writer. Her critically acclaimed collection of stories, Bearings, was published by Affirm in 2011. Her fantasy series for middle grade readers, Irina: The Trilogy, was published by Xoum between 2012 and 2015, with some young readers calling it 'the best book since Harry Potter'. Swann was the inaugural first place winner of the Overland Story Wine prize for her story That Inward Eye. Swann's literary fiction, poetry and essays have been published in Meanjin, The Best Australian Stories, The World To Come, Australian Love Stories, Award Winning Australian Writing, page seventeen, Review of Australian Fiction, Australian Country Style, Reflecting on Melbourne, and The Glasgow Herald.

          Books by Leah Swann

          Related articles

          Supporting Bookshops and Your Loved Ones: I had a Book Delivered to my Mum From the Ballina Book Shop

          News | Book Life

          8 April 2020

          Supporting Bookshops and Your Loved Ones: I had a Book Delivered to my Mum From the Ballina Book Shop

            The Importance of Family: Kate Constable, author of The January Stars, shares the story behind her uplifting new novel

            News | Author Related

            7 April 2020

            The Importance of Family: Kate Constable, author of The January Stars, shares the story behind her uplifting new novel

            It's About the Brain: Why Do We Still Bother With Books… When There’s So Much Online?

            News | Book Life

            7 April 2020

            It's About the Brain: Why Do We Still Bother With Books… When There’s So Much Online?

              CEO of Hachette, Louise Sherwin-Stark has a Message for Us All - #AustraliaReadsAtHome

              News | Book Life

              6 April 2020

              CEO of Hachette, Louise Sherwin-Stark has a Message for Us All - #AustraliaReadsAtHome

                Podcast: Julia Baird on Things that Sustain You when the World Goes Dark

                Podcast | News

                6 April 2020

                Podcast: Julia Baird on Things that Sustain You when the World Goes Dark

                  Challenging Stereotypes: Author Eliza Henry Jones Shares the Inspiration for How to Grow a Family Tree

                  News | Author Related

                  1 April 2020

                  Challenging Stereotypes: Author Eliza Henry Jones Shares the Inspiration for How to Grow a Family Tree

                  Guilty Secrets: What I Found On my Friend's Bedside Table

                  News | Book Life

                  31 March 2020

                  Guilty Secrets: What I Found On my Friend's Bedside Table

                    The Daughter of Victory Lights Author Kerri Turner Shares 10 Books About Connecting From Afar

                    News | Book Life

                    31 March 2020

                    The Daughter of Victory Lights Author Kerri Turner Shares 10 Books About Connecting From Afar

                      Supporting Local Bookstores: Dymocks in Nowra

                      News | Book Life

                      30 March 2020

                      Supporting Local Bookstores: Dymocks in Nowra

                        Podcast: Ruby Hamad on White Women's Tears

                        Podcast

                        30 March 2020

                        Podcast: Ruby Hamad on White Women's Tears

                          COMMENTS

                          Leave a Reply

                          Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *