The Bombs That Brought Us Together

Synopsis

Fourteen-year-old Charlie Law has lived in Little Town, on the border with Old Country, all his life. He knows the rules: no going out after dark; no drinking; no litter; no fighting. You don't want to get on the wrong side of the people who run Little Town. When he meets Pavel Duda, a refugee from Old Country, the rules start to get broken. Then the bombs come, and the soldiers from Old Country, and Little Town changes for ever. Sometimes, to keep the people you love safe, you have to do bad things. As Little Town's rules crumble, Charlie is sucked into a dangerous game. There's a gun, and a bad man, and his closest friend, and his dearest enemy. Charlie Law wants to keep everyone happy, even if it kills him. And maybe it will ...Perfect for readers of Patrick Ness, John Boyne and Malorie Blackman.
Brian Conaghan
About the author

Brian Conaghan

Brian Conaghan was born in 1971. He was raised in the Scottish town of Coatbridge but now lives and works as a teacher in Dublin. His novel When Mr Dog Bites was shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal and attracted both praise and controversy for its honest, moving and funny depiction of a teenage boy with Tourette's syndrome.He has a Master of Letters in Creative Writing from the University of Glasgow, and his first book The Boy Who Made it Rain was published in 2011. Over the years Brian has made his dosh as a painter and decorator, a barman, a DJ, an actor, a teacher and now a writer. He currently lives in Dublin with two beauties who hinder his writing: his wife Orla and daughter Rosie.

Books by Brian Conaghan

Related articles

Bookstagram is Heaven for Book Lovers

News | Book Life

30 June 2020

Bookstagram is Heaven for Book Lovers

    Book Launch: Anna Downes’s Debut Fiction, The Safe Place - Join Us Live

    News | Events & Festivals

    29 June 2020

    Book Launch: Anna Downes’s Debut Fiction, The Safe Place - Join Us Live

      Podcast: Jacqueline Harvey on why Reading is Important for Kids, and How to Make it fun for Them at Home

      Podcast

      29 June 2020

      Podcast: Jacqueline Harvey on why Reading is Important for Kids, and How to Make it fun for Them at Home

        Do You Dream of Writing a Book? Watch Dervla's Writing Studio

        News | Events & Festivals

        29 June 2020

        Do You Dream of Writing a Book? Watch Dervla's Writing Studio

          Podcast: Chris Flynn on the Climate, Science and the Future of Cloning

          Podcast

          29 June 2020

          Podcast: Chris Flynn on the Climate, Science and the Future of Cloning

            Deep sympathy for the natural world: Notes to help you delve further into Diary of a Young Naturalist

            News | Author Related

            24 June 2020

            Deep sympathy for the natural world: Notes to help you delve further into Diary of a Young Naturalist

            Happy birthday Grug!  Celebrating 40 years of a true-blue dinky-di Aussie character

            News | Book Life

            24 June 2020

            Happy birthday Grug! Celebrating 40 years of a true-blue dinky-di Aussie character

            Podcast: Dugald Bruce-Lockhart on Acting, Writing and Being the Son of a Spy

            Podcast

            24 June 2020

            Podcast: Dugald Bruce-Lockhart on Acting, Writing and Being the Son of a Spy

              Special Live Event - Elizabeth Gilbert

              News | Events & Festivals

              23 June 2020

              Special Live Event - Elizabeth Gilbert

                Through a child's eye: Letter by Dara McAnulty, author of Diary of a Young Naturalist

                News | Author Related

                23 June 2020

                Through a child's eye: Letter by Dara McAnulty, author of Diary of a Young Naturalist

                COMMENTS

                Leave a Reply

                Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *