The Girl in the Red Coat

Publisher details

The Girl in the Red Coat
Author
Kate Hamer
Publisher
Faber & Faber
Genres
Fiction, Thriller
Released
01 April, 2015

Synopsis

A stand-out debut, The Girl in the Red Coat is the page-turning and hugely moving story of an abduction that will appeal to fans of The Light Between Oceans, Room and The Snow Child. Eight-year-old Carmel has always been different - sensitive, distracted, with a heartstopping tendency to go missing. Her mother Beth, newly single, worries about her daughter's strangeness, especially as she is trying to rebuild a life for the two of them on her own.When she takes Carmel for an outing to a local festival, her worst fear is realised: Carmel disappears into the crowd. Unable to accept the possibility that her daughter might be gone for good, Beth embarks on a mission to find her. Meanwhile, Carmel begins an extraordinary and terrifying journey of her own. But do the real clues to Carmel's disappearance lie in the otherworldly qualities her mother had only begun to guess at?
Kate Hamer
About the author

Kate Hamer

Kate Hamer grew up in Pembrokeshire. She did a Creative Writing MA at Aberystwyth University and the Curtis Brown Creative novel-writing course. She won the Rhys Davies short story award in 2011 and her winning story was read out Radio 4. She has recently been awarded a Literature Wales bursary. She lives in Cardiff with her husband and two children.

Books by Kate Hamer

Related articles

Supporting Local Bookshops After the Bushfires

News | Book Life

20 February 2020

Supporting Local Bookshops After the Bushfires

    Art for Wildlife

    News | Book Life

    20 February 2020

    Art for Wildlife

    How Audio Books Help Children Learn To Read

    Kids & Ya

    18 February 2020

    How Audio Books Help Children Learn To Read

    Podcast: Melissa Ashley Talks About the Fascinating Marie Catherine d’Aulnoy

    Podcast

    18 February 2020

    Podcast: Melissa Ashley Talks About the Fascinating Marie Catherine d’Aulnoy

      Authors On-the-go: Jenn J. McLeod and Myrtle the Turtle

      News | Book Life

      18 February 2020

      Authors On-the-go: Jenn J. McLeod and Myrtle the Turtle

        A One of a Kind Bookshop: Books From a Bygone Era at Love Vintage Books

        News

        18 February 2020

        A One of a Kind Bookshop: Books From a Bygone Era at Love Vintage Books

          Celebrating Books Together: Family Sunday at the State Library of New South Wales

          News | Events & Festivals

          18 February 2020

          Celebrating Books Together: Family Sunday at the State Library of New South Wales

          The Good Hawk Author, Joseph Elliott on Inclusivity in Children’s Books

          News | Author Related

          18 February 2020

          The Good Hawk Author, Joseph Elliott on Inclusivity in Children’s Books

          Podcast: Bestselling author, Fiona McIntosh Talks Diamond Hunting

          Podcast

          17 February 2020

          Podcast: Bestselling author, Fiona McIntosh Talks Diamond Hunting

            Happy International Book Giving Day

            News | Events & Festivals

            13 February 2020

            Happy International Book Giving Day

            COMMENTS

            Leave a Reply

            Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *