Skip to content

The Girl in the Red Coat

by Kate Hamer

A stand-out debut, The Girl in the Red Coat is the page-turning and hugely moving story of an abduction that will appeal to fans of The Light Between Oceans, Room and The Snow Child.

Eight-year-old Carmel has always been different – sensitive, distracted, with a heartstopping tendency to go missing. Her mother Beth, newly single, worries about her daughter’s strangeness, especially as she is trying to rebuild a life for the two of them on her own.

When she takes Carmel for an outing to a local festival, her worst fear is realised: Carmel disappears into the crowd. Unable to accept the possibility that her daughter might be gone for good, Beth embarks on a mission to find her. Meanwhile, Carmel begins an extraordinary and terrifying journey of her own. But do the real clues to Carmel’s disappearance lie in the otherworldly qualities her mother had only begun to guess at?


Overview

Author
Publisher
Genres
Released
01 April, 2015

About Kate Hamer

Kate Hamer grew up in Pembrokeshire. She did a Creative Writing MA at Aberystwyth University and the Curtis Brown Creative novel-writing course. She won the Rhys Davies short story award in 2011 and her winning story was read out Radio 4. She has recently been awarded a Literature Wales bursary. She lives in Cardiff with her husband and two children.



Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *