The Invisibles

Publisher details

The Invisibles
Author
Cecilia Galante
Publisher
HarperCollins
Genres
Debut, Fiction
Released
01 August, 2015

Synopsis

Thrown together by chance as teenagers at Turning Winds Home for Girls, Nora, Ozzie, Monica, and Grace quickly bond over their troubled pasts and form their own family which they dub The Invisibles. But when tragedy strikes after graduation, Nora is left to deal with the horrifying aftermath alone as the other three girls leave home and don"t look back.Fourteen years later, Nora is living a quiet, single life working in the local library. She is content to focus on her collection of "first lines" (her favorite opening lines from novels) and her dog, Alice Walker, when out-of-the-blue Ozzie calls her on her thirty-second birthday. But after all these years, Ozzie hasn"t called her to wish a happy birthday. Instead, she tells Nora that Grace attempted suicide and is pleading for The Invisibles to convene again. Nora is torn: she is thrilled at the thought of being in touch with her friends, and yet she is hesitant at seeing these women after such a long and silent period of time. Bolstered by her friends at the library, Nora joins The Invisibles in Chicago for a reunion that sets off an extraordinary chain of events that will change each of their lives forever.The Invisibles is an unforgettable novel that asks the questions: How much of our pasts define our present selves And what does it take to let go of some of our most painful wounds and move on

In the vein of Meg Donohue and Jennifer Close, comes Cecilia Galante"s adult debut about the complicated and powerful bonds of female friendship-a compelling, moving novel that is told in both the present and the past.Thrown together by chance as teenagers at Turning Winds Home for Girls, Nora, Ozzie, Monica, and Grace quickly bond over their troubled pasts and form their own family which they dub The Invisibles. But when tragedy strikes after graduation, Nora is left to deal with the horrifying aftermath alone as the other three girls leave home and don"t look back.Fourteen years later, Nora is living a quiet, single life working in the local library. She is content to focus on her collection of "first lines" (her favorite opening lines from novels) and her dog, Alice Walker, when out-of-the-blue Ozzie calls her on her thirty-second birthday. But after all these years, Ozzie hasn"t called her to wish a happy birthday. Instead, she tells Nora that Grace attempted suicide and is pleading for The Invisibles to convene again. Nora is torn: she is thrilled at the thought of being in touch with her friends, and yet she is hesitant at seeing these women after such a long and silent period of time. Bolstered by her friends at the library, Nora joins The Invisibles in Chicago for a reunion that sets off an extraordinary chain of events that will change each of their lives forever.The Invisibles is an unforgettable novel that asks the questions: How much of our pasts define our present selves And what does it take to let go of some of our most painful wounds and move on.
Cecilia Galante
About the author

Cecilia Galante

Cecilia Galante is the author of three young adult novels, three middle-grade books, and a children's chapter-book series. She is the recipient of many awards, including a NAIBA Book of the Year and an Oprah's Teen Read Selection for her first novel, The Patron Saint of Butterflies. Her books have been translated into Japanese, Turkish, and Polish.

Books by Cecilia Galante

Related articles

National Reconciliation Week 2020: 7 Great Reads

News | Events & Festivals

25 May 2020

National Reconciliation Week 2020: 7 Great Reads

    News | Author Related

    25 May 2020

    "1950's America, but with dragons": Author Patrick Ness answers our questions about his new book, Burn

    Podcast: Katherine Scholes on Africa, Storytelling, and Fictional andemics

    Podcast

    25 May 2020

    Podcast: Katherine Scholes on Africa, Storytelling, and Fictional andemics

      Inspirational story and hard-earned advice: Read an extract from More Than A Kick by Tayla Harris

      Kids & Ya

      21 May 2020

      Inspirational story and hard-earned advice: Read an extract from More Than A Kick by Tayla Harris

      79 excuses for being late to school: Read an Extract from Exploding Endings: Painted Dogs and Doom Cakes by Tim Harris

      Kids & Ya

      21 May 2020

      79 excuses for being late to school: Read an Extract from Exploding Endings: Painted Dogs and Doom Cakes by Tim Harris

      The Top 100: The Better Reading Team Each Chooses a Book That They Love

      News | Book Life

      21 May 2020

      The Top 100: The Better Reading Team Each Chooses a Book That They Love

        A Gift For You: What’s Your Number?

        News | Book Life

        20 May 2020

        A Gift For You: What’s Your Number?

          Podcast: Sophie McNeill on The Middle East and why We Can't Say We Didn't Know

          Podcast

          19 May 2020

          Podcast: Sophie McNeill on The Middle East and why We Can't Say We Didn't Know

            “The key to success is hard work, that’s why it remains a secret to so many”: AFLW star Tayla Harris chats about her book,  More Than A Kick

            News | Author Related

            18 May 2020

            “The key to success is hard work, that’s why it remains a secret to so many”: AFLW star Tayla Harris chats about her book, More Than A Kick

            Bohemian Bondi: A Beachside Bookstore Inspired by a Famous Parisian Salon

            News | Book Life

            18 May 2020

            Bohemian Bondi: A Beachside Bookstore Inspired by a Famous Parisian Salon

              COMMENTS

              Leave a Reply

              Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

              1. Very nice article, just what I was looking for.

                maglie calcio bambino EloisaHar fußballtrikots kaufen IsiahLath
                FredrickN fotballdrakter barn WinnieWei